Posted by: nancyisanders | April 29, 2008

Why Are You A Writer?

Why are you a writer? Why do you write for kids? Is it because you’re a child at heart? I know that’s one of the reasons I write.

Here are some “secrets” about me that reveal that yes, I’m still a kid at heart:
* I usually eat lunch on my Winnie-the-Pooh plastic children’s dishes set.
* I bought a Dr. Seuss T-Shirt last week–with One Fish, Two Fish on it. (It was a great buy! $9 at Kohls in the Young Men’s Department–similar to the one pictured above.)
* When my friend came over to my house last week, she asked me why I have a bunch of red, blue, yellow and green balloons hanging from my chandelier. “Ummm,” I said weakly. “They were from my son’s celebration because he finished college.” “When was that?” she asked. “About a month ago…” I replied. Well, hey! I LIKE red, blue, yellow and green balloons! (I haven’t tossed them out yet, but I hung them upside down because they lost their ability to float after the first day.) They make me smile.
* I finally convinced the same son to watch My Friend Flicka with me!
* I’d rather walk to the park than drive to the mall.
* I like to stop and smell the roses and hide behind our fence to watch a pair of grackles feed their babies in a nest under our neighbor’s eaves.
* I haven’t read an adult novel in so long that I can’t remember when. But recently I read Charlotte’s Web and listened to The Secret Garden on tape and am in the middle of the Laura Ingalls Wilder series!
*When I’m at home all day by myself writing and the phone rings, I have to turn down the CD that’s blaring before I answer it. It’s usually one of the records from my childhood. Most recently it’s an old Disney recording of nursery rhymes and songs from “A Child’s Garden of Verses.”

So there you have it. The cat is out of the bag! One of the reasons I write is because I’m a child at heart. And that’s why I write for kids.

Why are you a writer?

Responses

  1. I write because I can’t do otherwise. Hopefully, there is still some child left in me!

    Gloria

  2. Ha! I love this post, Nancy. I SAW you in your Dr. Seuss shirt yesterday (o: I’m going right out to buy one today. I had a sneaking suspicion that you were about 6 or 7 (o: Pssst! Don’t tell anyone, but so am I! No wonder your picture books and magazine stories have so much charm.
    Love,
    Sherri

  3. Gloria, I love your children’s stories–especially you wonderful books! Yes, there’s definitely some child inside you still!
    -Nancy

  4. Ha ha, Sherri! Glad you liked my shirt!!!!
    -Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

