Posted by: nancyisanders | April 24, 2009

The Folded Page

Recently I read a poem that really touched my heart as a writer. It inspired me to continue through all the setbacks and confusion in my pursuit of writing. I hope it inspires and encourages you, too!

The Folded Page
Up in the quaint old attic, as the raindrops pattered down,
And I sat conning over a school book–dusty, work, and brown–
I came to a leaf that was folded, and marked in a childish hand,
“The teacher says to leave this now, Tis hard to understand.”

What was so hard? I wondered. I opened it with a smile.
Only to read, at the problem’s end: “We learned ‘why’ after a while.”
My tears fell thick as the raindrops then, up in the attic old,
As I thought of leaves that are ‘folded down’ till the days of our lives are told.

One was folded there with a tender hand to the sound of summer rain;
When the dust of years lies thick above, will we open this page again?
And can we write with steady hand, and on our lips a smile,
“At last our Teacher told us ‘why,’ and we learned it–after a while!”

-poem from Words of Comfort & Cheer by Mrs. Charles Cowman

For more inspiration thoughts, prayers, and Scriptures, visit Scribes, my photoblog for Christian writers.

Responses

  1. This is beautiful and thought provoking. I love Mrs. Cowman’s Streams in the Desert. I think you know who gave me a copy (o;
    Sherri


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

