Posted by: nancyisanders | May 5, 2011

Deadline Digest: Craft

Part of the fun of writing for children is that we get to experience our world through the eyes of a child.

This morning, after doing some intense research and writing over 600 words of new content towards my book deadline, I needed a break from reading and typing.

So I made a craft!

Last night on the way home from church, Jeff and I stopped and picked up a package of clay from the craft store.

So this morning, I got out that clay and made a little clay statue from start to finish because it will be one of the activities I have the kids make in my book.

I took zillions of pictures along the way…of the clay…of the homemade tools I gathered to carve with…of rolling the logs…shaping the head…and of each and every step I took along the way.

Then after a fun hour of getting messy–just like a kid!–I headed back to the computer and typed out step-by-step instructions on how to make that craft.

In years past, I used to have to make each craft and send it to the illustrator so she could see how to draw the steps. Now with a digital camera it’s so much easier and it saves a ton of money in postage. I’ll just upload all those pictures I took and find a dozen key images to send to the illustrator on a disc when I submit my final manuscript.

Not only did I get great photographs for the illustrator to follow as she draws images to match the steps to use, but I also have this fun statue I can take to book signings and show kids when they come up to my book table!

Plus, I’m planning to use these photos on my website, too, that I’m currently building for my new book…but that’s another post for another day.

Now I’m off to work on Book Deadline #2 all afternoon.

What writing project are you working on today?

Responses

  1. Working on writing Mother’s Day cards.

    Brainstorming about boys, rocks, and adventures.

    Smiling all the way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

