Posted by: nancyisanders | July 16, 2011

Summer Reads: Children’s Poetry



The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing Poetry

by Nikki Moustaki

I’m really enjoying reading through this book on how to write poetry.

But I don’t just want to read about poetry.

I want to try writing it.

So yesterday I went to our local library and got out a whole bagful of children’s poetry books. I just went into the nonfiction aisle in the children’s section and browsed through their poetry section.

Of course, I got several titles by Jack Prelusky, the current king of children’s poetry, but I also plan on reading books I have at home by Shel Silverstein, the genius of children’s poetry, and Robert Louis Stevenson, the master of children’s poetry.

And then, after I practice writing short poems for children as I’m reading through this how-to book on poetry, I also want to read entire picture books written in rhyme.

That’s my ultimate goal for studying poetry…to improve my skills at writing picture books in rhyme.

How are your summer reads coming along?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

