Posted by: nancyisanders | May 11, 2012

Author Interview: Mayra Calvani

Meet Author Mayra Calvani!

Blog: Mayra’s Secret Bookcase
Web site: Mayra’s Secret Bookcase
Facebook Fan Club: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mayra-Calvanis-Fan-Page/162383023775888
Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/mcalvani

Bio:
Mayra Calvani writes fiction and nonfiction for children and adults and has authored over a dozen books, some of which have won awards. Her stories, reviews, interviews and articles have appeared on numerous publications such as The Writer, Writer’s Journal, Multicultural Review, and Bloomsbury Review, among many others. Visit her website at Mayra’s Secret Bookcase and get the first two lessons of her popular Walking on a Rainbow Picture Book Workshop free!

Featured Book:
The Water Cycle: Water Play Series, Book 1
Author: Mayra Calvani
Illustrator: Alexander Morris

Follow the water droplets in their journey from the clouds to the earth and back to the clouds again. Written in a lyrical style, the book takes a new angle on the water cycle by showing the feelings it evokes in people. Quaint and quirky art adds a light-hearted touch to the reader’s experience of learning about the weather. Pencil activities included in the back. Suggested age for readers: 4-8

Interview:
Q: Describe a highlight for you personally while you were writing this book.
A:
This is my first nonfiction picture book, so it was a new experience. I enjoyed going to the library to do research and also reading all the picture books I could find about the water cycle. So the research stage was quite enjoyable. Also, trying to approach the topic from a fresh angle was a challenge—and challenges can be hard but pretty exciting, too!

Q: Share one goal you have as a children’s writer and the steps you are taking to achieve it.
A:
My main goal right now is to break in with the big publishers. I’m fortunate and sublimely grateful to have two agents. One is representing one of my picture books and the other one a couple of my other works. At the moment I’m revising a middle-grade novel and working on a YA (the first book of four). If I could land a contract with either of these projects…well, what can I say? It’d be a dream come true.

Q: What writing project are you currently working on?
A:
I’m currently working on a YA paranormal novel titled Moon Goddess, the first of a series of four books based on ancient Egyptian mythology. I’ve always been an avid fan of ancient Egypt, so I’m really excited about this project. I’ve spent months doing research and I even took a 48-lecture course. One of my dreams is to visit Cairo and take a cruise down the Nile in the near future. I went there twice during my teens, but that was a long time ago.

Q: What is one word of advice you received as a writer that you would like to share with others?
A:
Don’t let anyone get in the way of your vision, then take the necessary steps to make that vision a reality.

Thanks, Mayra!!!
And to learn even more about Mayra and glean some very helpful writing tips, join in on the final day of her Virtual Book Tour by visiting the site of Launch Pad Publishing. Be sure to post a comment and congratulate Mayra on her new book.

Responses

  1. Hi Nancy,

    Terrific interview of Mayra!

    Hi Mayra,

    Just when I thought I knew you (as best as I can with an ocean dividing us), you have revealed wonderful insights and desires. Thanks!

    All the best,
    Donna

  2. Oh, thanks, Donna! :-)

    I also enjoy reading interviews about my fellow writers. It’s so interesting to find out new things about them.

    Thanks so much for hosting me, Nancy! I really appreciate your support!

    Mayra

    • It’s great to have you hear, Mayra, celebrating your new book. Aren’t book parties fun?!!! And thanks for joining in, too, Donna.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

