Posted by: nancyisanders | January 18, 2013

Books on Plot

DSCN0133

For starters, I went through all the books on my writer’s bookshelves and pulled out any how-to-write book that had information about PLOT.

I gathered four basic categories of books:
How to write picture books
How to write for children
How to write a novel
Plots

In the photo above, you can see the books I have. I’ll list some of these titles in an upcoming post.

I’ve read some of these books, but some I haven’t. My goal right now is to read through each of these books and learn more about plot.

Do you have any books that teach about plot that you like? Let us know about them so we can learn from them, too!

Responses

  1. I have Second Sight by Cheryl Klein, that I’ve read bits and pieces of.

    • Thanks Tina! I’ll add that to my list!

  2. I love James Scott Bell’s ‘Plot and Structure’ and ‘The Art of War for Writers.’ Les Edgerton’s ‘Hooked’ is not really about plot, per se, but I think it does help a writer think through why she’s making choices which will affect her plot.

    • Thanks for sharing, Beth! I’m reading James Scott Bell’s ‘Plot and Structure’ right now. It’s very helpful! I’ll add his other book plus Edgerton’s book to my list, too.

  3. I was going to name Scott Bell’s book as well. Beth beat me. LOL :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

