Posted by: nancyisanders | June 21, 2013

Sneak Peak

Yes 1 Front Cover

Hey! Here’s a sneak peak at the new cover design I’ve created for my writing book, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career.

Do you like the pink and white quilt in the background? I just made that! Plus, can you find my two cats on there? They decided to sit on the quilt while I was doing a photo-shoot so I decided to put them on the cover! (Sandman is orange and white, Pitterpat is a Siamese snowshoe) And I put some of my favorite published books in the cover picture, too. What do you think?

I decided for a variety of reasons to self-publish my first book for writers in the Yes! You Can series.

One of the reasons I’ve decided to do that is because I wanted to update it and include a section on Common Core State Standards.

It’s been a fun journey. I had the book taken out of print for awhile. During that time, I wrote the new section on Common Core State Standards. Then I reformatted the entire book to fit into CreateSpace’s template. That took me some time, but whew! It was worth it. I really like working with CreateSpace from step one to the finish line. Most of all, because they put out a quality product and it’s totally free! (Okay, I did opt to pay $25 for it to be available in bookstores and I paid $8 for them to send me a copy of my proof to review. But you don’t have to do that…you can do it totally for free. And even at that price, it practically feels free ’cause it’s so cheap.)

And now I just have to spend time finalizing the proof checking for those elusive typos.

But as soon as I finish that, my book will be up and ready to purchase again! This time it will be available at online bookstores AND you can order it in at your favorite local bookstore AND you can order in multiple copies for using it to teach classes, too!

I’ll let you know as soon as it’s available, but for starters, I wanted to let you all get a sneak peak at the new exciting cover!

Responses

  1. How fun to design your own cover! It looks great!

  2. Wow, Nancy. I cannot figure out how you manage to accomplish so much. I feel like I am always peddling backwards. You are a wonderful role model. I hope to work step by step to achieve more. Thanks for always being so positive. Can’t wait to order the new book. Chris

    • Oh Chris, if you’ve never read this book before, I hope it helps you really zoom forward in your writing goals!!! I’ll let everyone know here on this blog as soon as it’s officially out.

      • Thanks, Nancy. I have the original copy you signed at the Christian Writer’s Conference when I took your continuing session course. Unfortunately, I am a procrastinator. I will look for the updated pages for the Common Core State Standards. Right now, I am working on your write a middle grade novel in a month. I think it may take me two!!!

      • Chris, I’m so excited that you’re working on the middle grade novel workshop. And I’m thrilled that you’ll get it done in perhaps even 2 months. Many people don’t finish a novel for months and even years. So keep on keeping on!!!! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Cute, Nancy!!! It turned out great! Congratulations and I hope you have even more great success with it. :)

  4. Your new cover looks great Nancy. I just bought your original book in March. Is there any chance you will post the information (for sale, of course) you included about the Common Core State Standards? I would love to read it, I just don’t want to rebuy the whole book. Thanks!

    • Thanks Audrey! And yes!!! I’ll be posting the section on the Common Core State Standards here on my blog and on the book’s website as a free pdf file you can download as soon as the new book is finalized and up for sale. That file will be for anyone who has purchased the original edition. So keep an eye out!

      • You’re very thoughtful Nancy…and I appreciate it!

  5. Great cover. One cat is behind the title and the other below the book on the right. :-)

    • Good detective work, Tracy! Most people don’t see them until I point them out, lol.

      • Hee hee. Maybe I’m in the wrong line of work. :-)
        Have a super weekend.

  6. Yaye for the pdf. That was my question, too!

  7. Great cover, and I can’t wait to download the core standards. I have the other books and it is only my own fear of failure as well as success that keeps me from moving on. OH and those rejections I keep getting. Blessings for success.

    • Glad you like the cover, Terri! And oh those pangs of fear and the reality of rejections…it does take a stout heart and an optimistic attitude in this world!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

