Posted by: nancyisanders | September 2, 2013

Special Announcement: Re-release of Yes! You Can!

Yes 1 Front Cover

I’m so excited to announce that my first how-to-book for children’s writers is once again for sale, Yes! You Can Learn Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career. Yay!

It’s got a whole new look. It’s got a picture of a pink and black and white baby quilt I made, along with pictures of some of my books (and also my cats!) on the cover.

It’s got a whole new section on Common Core State Standards. These standards are impacting the world of children’s publishing like nothing I’ve ever seen personally. That’s one of the reasons I wanted to re-release my book. I provide a brief overview of these standards in my book now as a launching point for you to take off and be in the know.

Other than that, this book is the same as the first edition. So if you already bought the first one, don’t go out and purchase this one. There’s no need to because you can download that extra section I added on Common Core State Standards by clicking this link below.

And if you haven’t yet purchased this book, please feel free to download this file so you can learn more about Common Core State Standards. This will also give you a preview of what’s inside my book and how it can help you build a successful writing career as a children’s writer.

11.3 Common Core State Standards

Responses

  1. Congratulations, Nancy! Thanks for letting those of us who already have your book get access to this new chapter! I’ve written many things for Lakeshore that have to do with the Common Core!

    • Tina, Hip hip hooray for you! And thanks for your help with this book when it first came out.

  2. Thanks for your thoughtfulness in giving those of us who already bought your book the chance to download the new information for free. I like the book and I appreciate your kind generosity!

    • You’re welcome, Audrey! And thank YOU for getting a copy of my book in the first place. I’m so glad you like it.

  3. Thanks Nancy. It was very generous of you to make the Common Core section available to us. I will copy it and attach it to the book! Chris

    • You’re welcome, Chris! And thanks for getting my book in the first place!!!!!

  4. Yay, Nancy!!! Woohoo! So glad it’s out there again for all to benefit from! Thanks for the downloadable section on Common Core too, that’s very generous of you. I hope many writers jump on this new opportunity.

    • You’re welcome, Val! And hope you have a wonderfully happy and blessed birthday week!

  5. Congrats! When you rereleased your book, did you keep the original copyright date or use the current year?

    I am looking into rereleasing my children’s book, Sara Dippity, but was unsure how to proceed.

    • This is a question I wrestled with, Maggie, and I’m sorry to say I don’t know the answer to. I put in a new copyright date for the current year because I added new content and that was what the publisher did who brought out a new, updated version of my book, A Kid’s Guide To African American History. But if your book doesn’t have any new information in it, I’m not sure how that is handled. Let me know if you learn the answer to this!

      • Thanks for the input! My book is a story to help children cope with the loss of a loved one. I could add a page of questions to spark dialogue or activities that would help a grieving child.

      • That sounds like a good idea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

