Posted by: nancyisanders | May 12, 2010

NaPiBoWriWee: Wrap Up

Well, we did it! We survived another year of NaPiBoWriWee… National Picture Book Writer’s Week. Thank you, Paula Yoo, for being the official host and blogger for it even in the midst of your very hectic schedule!

As I’m taking stock of my accomplishments, in reality I probably have 4 manuscripts that have no hope of going anywhere. They’re that bad. Smile.

But I also have 3 manuscripts that look really promising! That means I have 3 picture book manuscripts that I didn’t have a week ago! I’m taking one of these to my critique group tomorrow.

And speaking of critique group…that’s where we go next. After working so hard to write our first drafts of 7 picture books in 7 days, it’s time to edit and polish them. And one way we can do this is to go to critique groups.

I just finished teaching a teleclass at National Writing Center for Children all about critique group. You can purchase the audio file for $5.97 by clicking on the link to my teleclasses listed at that site at The Children’s Writers Coaching Club.

And also, I’m going to be talking about critique groups here over the next month! So if you’re not yet in a critique group, I’ll share tips on how to start one. And if you’re already in a critique group, I’ll share ideas on how you can make your critique group the best group on the planet (along with mine, of course!).


Responses

  1. Nancy,
    I can never remember if CHAIRS is the 2nd or 3rd Th. Is the meeting tomorrow, 5/13?


Leave a Reply

Categories

