Posted by: nancyisanders | June 7, 2010

Welcome to My World


America’s Black Founders
Website: www.AmericasBlackFounders.wordpress.com

The life of a writer can have certain moments of sheer joy.

I experienced one of those “moments” on Sunday. You see, my book, America’s Black Founders, was selected by my church, Calvary Chapel Chino Hills, to be featured as the Book of the Month for June. (Can I describe the feelings of amazement I experienced when they called to inform me of that a couple of weeks ago?)

Now, this was the first time they had ever featured a children’s book as the Book of the Month. I wondered…would perhaps a dozen or so people be interested? This was also a rare time that they didn’t feature an overtly Christian book or book by a Christian publisher. I wondered even more…would people just not be interested?

Well, the fun began as my husband Jeff and I walked into church. We passed people carrying copies of the book. We looked at each other and smiled. People were interested in the book!

We attended our service. It was a very emotional one because we found out that our neighboring city, Ontario, had just voted to include “In God We Trust” on their city’s logo. Then they also announced that our very own school district had voted 5 to 0 to include a Bible curriculum in the highschools! The entire congregation rose to their feet and gave a standing ovation to God and to the people responsible for these decisions.

Then afterward, my husband and I walked through the courtyard as we always do to go to our car. We passed the book table where they were selling my book…and they only had 4 copies left. Four copies…and they had ordered over 150 books to sell. Four copies, and there was still the third service to come! They were already making hasty plans to order another large batch of books for next week!

And there, standing at the book table was a local school board member who had purchased several copies and he talked with us about how he wants to get the book adopted as school curriculum.

Needless to say, Jeff and I went home from church with huge grins on our faces and praising God for His glory all the way.


Responses

  1. Wow, Nancy! Congratulations! That’s awesome that a public school district is including Bible curriculum. It’s fun to see how God is blessing you and this book!
    ~Tina

    • Thanks so much Tina and Sherri!!!! Jeff and I have been so excited to see such a positive response to this book.

  2. WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Your book is meeting a need! God has a BIG plan for this one!

  3. How wonderful, Nancy! I’m praising God with you for how He is using you!!
    ~Heidi

  4. God is good all the time! May God continue to bless yours steps as you continue following His.
    -Mitzi

    • Thanks for sharing in the joy, Mitzi! -Nancy

  5. Nancy,
    You are so generous with your help to new writers. I can’t think of a nicer person for God to bless. Just think of the blessing your book will be to school children. God is good.
    Margaret

    • Dear Margaret, thank you so much for your kind, sweet words. Blessings to you, too, friend! -Nancy

  6. Nancy,

    This brought a smile to my face. How wonderful and deserving you are.

    Diane


Leave a Reply

Categories

