Posted by: nancyisanders | June 13, 2010

Summer Reading Club: Stay Current

I don’t know about you, but I’m excited about being part of a Summer Reading Club! I love the idea of a reading club for children’s writers who love to read lots and lots of children’s books!

I’ve been making frequent trips to the library and picking up stacks of picture books with the occasional middle grade novel or young adult novel.

But recently, I had a phone conversation with someone from the publishing industry. During the course of our conversation, she brought up numerous titles of picture books that we discussed. Nearly all these titles were current books that I had read while visiting my local bookstores. They were too new to be in our library system yet.

This conversation showed me the value of staying current by visiting my local bookstores often and reading through the new titles that appear on their shelves. Also, if your library purchases a steady supply of picture books published within the last year, you can check these books out as well.

My friend and critique group buddy, Tina Cho, has a library with a “new books” shelf that features brand new picture books. She has been writing reviews of these books and featuring them on her educational blog at Tina’s Educational Tidbits. Stop on over and take a look! Then go out and read these new picture books yourself for the Summer Reading Club!


Responses

  1. Thanks, Nancy, for including my blog on your site! Good idea, to check the local bookstores, who are more current!
    ~Tina

    • You’re welcome, Tina. Thanks for posting all these great reviews on your site! -Nancy

  2. Thanks for this book review site. I try to visit my local library often. However, I have also noticed that the newest books are not yet available. This new site will help keep me up-to-date.
    Thanks!-Mitzi


Leave a Reply

Categories

