Posted by: nancyisanders | June 18, 2010

Author Interview: Donna M. McDine

Meet Author Donna M. McDine!
E-mail:
dmcdine@optionline.net
Blog: The Golden Pathway
Blog: Write What Inspires You!
Website: Donna M. McDine

Bio:
Donna McDine is an award-winning children’s author, Honorable Mention in the 77th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition and two Honorable Mentions in the 78th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition. Donna’s stories and features have been published in many print and online publications, and her first book, The Golden Pathway, will be published through Guardian Angel Publishing. Ms. McDine is a member of the SCBWI, Musing Our Children, and The National Writing for Children Center. Learn more about Donna at http://www.donnamcdine.com. If you sign the guestbook, you’ll receive a FREE e-Book Write What Inspires You: Author Interviews, and http://www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com and http://www.thegoldenpathway.blogspot.com.


Featured Book: The Golden Pathway
By Donna M. McDine
Illustrated by K. C. Snider
Published by Guardian Angel Publishing
Release date: Summer, 2010

Be transported through time to the Underground Railroad. David befriends a slave, Jenkins, owned by his Pa. Fighting against extraordinary times and beliefs, David leads Jenkins to freedom with no regard for his own safety and possible consequences.

Interview:
Q: Describe a highlight for you personally while you were writing this book.
A: Terrific question!
In the early stages I shared one of my latest drafts with my dear friend Dawn (of over 20 years) and her two boys. The oldest being an avid reader enjoyed it, but felt “it needed more meat.” Her youngest, a reluctant reader, said “David is so brave, I can’t wait to read more.” These two distinct feedbacks provided me the personal affirmation to keep writing and write well to keep the interest of both sides of the reading spectrum.

Q: Share the journey from book idea to published book while working with this particular publisher.
A: The Golden Pathway
started out as a writing assignment for the Children’s Writers’ Coaching Club and after several critiques with director, Suzanne Lieurance, I took the plunge and submitted my manuscript to the 77th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition and placed 12th in 1,17 entries. While not first place it is an honor I am quite proud of. From there I attended the Muse Online Writers Conference and met publisher, Lynda Burch of Guardian Angel Publishing. Lynda encouraged attendees of her workshop to submit and I found myself taking yet another plunge. Isn’t that what it is all about for writer’s, taking the chance and submitting?

While Lynda liked the story her professional opinion was to expand the story with specific points since I was no longer under a strict word count from the contest. I took all her suggestions into serious consideration and hired professional editor, Lea Schizas for further development. Once Lea and I were satisfied the manuscript was at its best, I resubmitted to Lynda Burch for reconsideration, resulting in an acceptance. Working with Lynda and K.C. Snider (illustrator) has been a rewarding and exhilarating experience and I am anxiously awaiting to announce the release date.

Q: What is one goal you have as a children’s writer and what are the steps you are taking to achieve it?
A: I have come to realize as writers
we have numerous goals we want to reach. My main goal at this time is to finish the edits to my historical fiction manuscript and submit to the publishing houses I have researched. Three to be exact, but will submit in order of preference since none accept simultaneous submissions. My work outside my writing career has been busier than ever so I tackle these edits before anything else on my agenda for the day.

Q: Share one tip you would like to give someone who is just starting out as a writer for children.
A: Don’t spread yourself too thin,
especially in Social Media Networking. Keeping social media profiles up to date and interesting is a full time job in itself even with pinging. Write first, then everything else. You’ll feel much better by the end of the day if you get your writing session in first.

Nancy, thank you for interviewing me, it has been a pleasure!

Responses

  1. Good morning Nancy:

    I’m thrilled to be here today. I look forward to checking-in throughout the day.

    Best wishes,
    Donna

    • It’s great to have you here today, Donna! Best wishes on your book’s success! -Nancy

  2. Great interview and great advice. I absolutely agree that social media networking is a full-time job, so it’s important for writers to prioritize and get in that writing time! 🙂

    All the best,
    Lori

  3. Great interview, Nancy and Donna!

    Donna, you must be so excited at the upcoming release of your book. I look forward to reading it!

  4. Great advice, and an interesting interview. I look forward to seeing more work from Donna, and can’t wait to read her books. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Lovely interview. Nice job, Nancy and Donna. :o)

    Great advice to write first, then do everything else, Donna.

  6. This is a great interview. Congratulations on your book Donna.

  7. Nancy, thanks for posting this interview. Many times I’ve let petty things take the time of writing.

    Your book, Yes You Can Build a Successful Writing Career has really helped me get organized. Since reading the book, I read your blog regularly and find your thoughts and advice helpful. You’ve become my mentor from afar, so thanks-Mitzi

    • Dear Mitzi, thank you for your kind words. It’s a joy to have you in my circle of writer friends! -Nancy

    • Hello Mitzi…thanks for stopping by today. Best wishes to your success.

      Regards,
      Donna

      P.S. Nancy…I’m getting the hang of wordpress…I see now you can respond individually to people’s comments!

  8. Lori, Mayra, Terri, Beth, and Kristi:

    Thank you very much for stopping by today and for your lovely comments and wonderful support. I truly appreciate.

    Best wishes to you all,
    Donna

  9. Great interview! Always nice learning more about authors through the interviews. Wish Donna much success with her books. Great tips!

    Susanne Drazic
    http://susannedrazic.blogspot.com/

    • Hi Susanne: Thanks for stopping by and for your well wishes. I appreciate your interest!

      Best wishes,
      Donna

  10. Donna,
    I can’t wait to see the finished book.
    Blessings,
    J. Aday Kennedy
    The Differently-Abled Writer
    Children’s picture Book Klutzy Kantor
    Coming Soon Marta Gargantuan Wings

    • Hi Jessica:

      Thanks for visiting, much appreciated.

      Warm regards,
      Donna

  11. A wonderful interview for a wonderful lady! Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Hi Nancy: Awww…thanks for your lovely note. You’ve made my evening and weekend!

      Best wishes,
      Donna

      • It’s been so great having you here on my blog, Donna! What a great group of pals you have stopping by. With all our good wishes, you’re sure to have such a wonderful experience with the launch of your book. Keep us all posted when you learn of its release date! -Nancy

  12. Nice interview, Nancy.

    It won’t be long, now, Donna. Waiting to see your lovely book.

    Have a good weekend, ladies.

    Bev

    • Hi Bev (cyberspace mom):

      Thanks for stopping by and for your ongoing support.

      Best wishes for a wonderful weekend,
      Donna

  13. Nancy:

    It’s been a terrific day! Nice way to end the week and begin the weekend!

    Warm regards,
    Donna

  14. I just discovered this interview, and I’m glad I did. I enjoyed the interview and knowing Donna better.

    Vivian

    • Hi Vivian:

      Thanks for stopping by and for your lovely note. Have a wonderful weekend.

      Best wishes,
      Donna

  15. Great advice … taking the time to write first, because it’s so easy to get involved with so many other things throughout the day that you might not ever get around to it otherwise.

    Donna, congratulations on your upcoming publication and I not only look forward to reading it but getting my copy signed by the author!

    Kindest regards,
    Patricia Shirra

    • Patricia:

      Thanks for your never ending support and critiques over the years. I look forward to getting back in the saddle again after our summer break!

      Warm regards,
      Donna

  16. Best wishes for much success with The Golden Pathway, Donna. I know it’ll be only the first of many for you.

    • Hi Earl:

      Thank you for your kind and supportive words. The writing community is the best!

      Best wishes,
      Donna

  17. This is a wonderful interview, Donna and Nancy. I am so encouraged by knowing more about your writing adventure, Donna! Congratulations on “The Golden Pathway!”

    ~Heidi

    • Hi Heidi:

      Thank you very much for stopping by and for your kind words.

      Best wishes to your success,
      Donna

  18. Thanks for sharing the great interview, Nancy! Donna, best wishes to you with The Golden Pathway!

    • Connie:

      Thanks for stopping by! Your support and kind words are much appreciated.

      Best wishes,
      Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

