Posted by: nancyisanders | June 30, 2010

A Great Read!

On my trek into the library to get to the picture books, I usually pass right past the middle grade and young adult sections. Typically, I grab one to take home and read along with my tall stack of picture books.

Recently, I spotted a book I’d heard about but had not yet read, The Invention of Hugo Cabret. I mean, I have to admit I wondered why a book the size of a novel won the 2008 Caldecott Medal for the most outstanding picture book of the year.

Out of curiosity, I grabbed it and added it to my stack.

Taking it home and opening its pages, I discovered the most amazing picture book I have ever encountered. Just imagine: A 544-page picture book that’s as long as a Harry Potter novel! Page after glorious page of detailed drawings that move your eye closer and closer into the scenes and sweep the story forward with tension and suspense.

I’m not going to give the amazing secret of this book away if you haven’t yet read it, but on your next trip to the library this summer, check it out and bring it home. Chances are, like me, you’ll have to show it to your husband and kids and maybe even your cat-who-is-your-writing-buddy! It’s a great read.


Responses

  1. That’s the very one I finished last night! What a wonderful story. I’m planning on mentioning this one on my blog as well. Great minds think alike-Mitzi

    • What a hoot, Mitzi! And isn’t it great? -Nancy

  2. I’m heading for the library today.

    I know what you mean about PBs, Nancy. I can’t get enough of them.

    Oh, how I wish I had studied art and could illustrate my mss!!

    Blessings,
    Jean

    • How fun that today is a library day, Jean! And you do know that publishers don’t want the author to illustrate her own manuscript, right? If not, let me know and I’ll make a quick post about how this works. -Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

