Posted by: nancyisanders | September 29, 2010

Middle Grade Musings

Everything I Need to Know about Middle Grade Novels I Learned from Jurassic Park
Part 1

Jurassic Park is the ultimate example of how strong characterization works. Each and every single character had unique qualities, distinctive voices, and over-the-top quirks. And each character either CHANGED or DIDN’T CHANGE by the end of the movie in a dramatic way. Also, they each used their unique characterizations to either SAVE THE DAY or BRING ABOUT TOTAL RUIN. In other words, their characterizations not only developed their personalities, but also worked to move the plot forward or throw obstacles in the way.

The main characters each seemed to be 3-D with three main distinctive character qualities each. Even each minor character had at least one unique quirk. The interesting thing, however, was that Jurassic Park 2 (Lost World) and Jurassic Park 3 did NOT have the same strong characterization. And my husband and son and I all agreed—as a result both the second and third movies were flat compared to the first. In my next post, I’ll explain what I noted in more detail.


Responses

  1. well… I should perhaps watch that movie!
    Never have… I’m scared to be scared!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

