Posted by: nancyisanders | October 26, 2010

Periodical Challenge: Update

I wanted to share an update on the journey I’m taking with the Periodical Challenge.

As many of you know, for this year’s Periodical Challenge, I targeted Highlights magazine. In reading through their submission guidelines, I discovered they take queries for nonfiction articles!

So I wrote up a query for 2 potential articles and mailed it in.

Well, yesterday when I went to the mailbox I discovered Highlights had mailed me a return letter! I opened it to discover that they LIKE my ideas for 2 potential articles and asked me to write them on spec and send them in.

Wahooooo! I was just so excited to receive a personal letter with a positive interest in my ideas that I wanted to shout it out to all of you.

Now, it’s time to roll up my sleeves and really start tackling these two articles to see if I can get published this year in the periodical of my dreams.

How about you? Are you hearing back from your target periodical yet? Even if it’s a rejection, as mine have been many years, it’s still exciting to know you accepted the challenge and targeted the periodical of your dreams. Way to goooooooooo!


Responses

  1. 2 articles! When it rains, it pours! I’m happy to hear your good news! Great job!

    • Thanks, Anne! Now to get them written and submitted. It’s not a done deal until they see if they like the finished articles. Smile. Nancy

  2. Awesome, Nancy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

