Posted by: nancyisanders | November 24, 2010

Marketing: “I” Oriented

Let’s talk marketing!

Marketing yourself as an author and marketing your books are very important in today’s competitive, electronic, and world-wide publishing industry.

I recommend you establish a website first. It’s your virtual business card. Once it’s up there, it can sit there and tell the world about who you are as an author.

I also recommend you maintain a blog. A blog keeps you writing steadily, which is like doing a set of daily push-ups to stay in shape. It also gives you a platform to interact with your target audience. It keeps you current, while your website can just be sitting there with general information about you.

Facebook, Twitter, and services like Linked-in also help you connect with different spheres of your target audience.

These are the basic marketing tools you should have in place.

But these aren’t the end all marketing tools. Why? Because they are “I” oriented.

I develop a website.
I post.
I tweet.
I do all the work.
And I’m not exactly sure who is reading it or if it actually is increasing sales of my books, which is the bottom line of why you’re developing marketing strategies in this industry.

Even if you have 147 followers on your blog and 389 friends on Facebook, is anyone actually going out and purchasing your books based on all the content you are posting?

Perhaps a few. But those are individual sales. Individual sales are fantastic. They’re great! But there is more to marketing than individual sales.

In my next post I’ll discuss some of these other strategies that I’m exploring to help increase sales of my books.


Responses

  1. Hi Nancy:

    I’m looking forward to your next post in your marketing series.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Warm regards,
    Donna

    • Thanks so much, Donna! And Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, too.
      -Nancy

  2. Just stopping back in to subscribe to your site with my new email address.

    Thanks!

  3. Nancy,
    You have ten times more energy than I do. Blessings, Jan

  4. Hi, Nancy,

    The url worked today!

    It’s so true that even thought Facebook and Twitter may draw traffic, are they purchasing your products?

    I’m looking forward to the rest of the marketing info.


Leave a Reply

Categories

