Posted by: nancyisanders | November 26, 2010

Marketing: “Others” Oriented

In the last couple of posts, we’ve discussed marketing strategies such as establishing a website, maintaining a blog, and posting on venues such as Facebook, Twitter, and Linked-in.

These are basic avenues you can explore as an author if you want to market yourself as an author and your books when you are published.

However, those are “I” oriented venues and mostly promote individual sales of your books.

Today I want to discuss “Others” oriented venues that can help promote your book more effectively.

I just want to give a disclaimer, too. I have not “proven” that some of these work. In actuality, right now I’m exploring different ways to help market my books as an author. But rather than explore these all on my own, I wanted to invite you along on my journey so we can chat about these ideas and so you can see if they help you market your books, too!

What do I mean by “Others” Oriented? In essence, I’m talking about going to where your target audience hangs out, learning what these others like to talk about, and focusing on being a part of other groups.

For instance, did you know there are HUGE online forums of homeschooling moms, moms at work, Christian moms, and other mom groups? For instance, the Homeschool Lounge has over 14,000 members!

Now, I’m not a homeschooling mom. But I sure would like these moms to know about my books so they can purchase them!

So I’m going to explore joining sites like these where moms hang out, where teachers discuss stuff, and where librarians rub elbows with each other. My plan is to create a little folder of these sites and these links and devote a small portion of my time each week…say between 30 minutes to 1 hour…getting connected to OTHERS on these mega-sites so I can start sharing my books with them with the purpose of generating sales.

Do I plan on barging into these sites with brash sales pitches and bold proclamations about the merits of my books? No. I’d probably get removed from the membership lists for spamming. Instead, I’ll listen and learn what these members want to talk about. I’ll share things from my perspective as a children’s author. I’ll include in my signature: info and a link to the book I want to market.

In the meantime, I’ll have my website and my blog going so these “others” can learn more about me and my books as I connect with them.


Responses

  1. Hi Nancy:

    Terrific post with great suggestions. This has been an ongoing conversation we’ve been having at the NWFCC and CWCC and thanks for announcing your ongoing marketing tips to the yahoo group.

    A few other groups worth networking with are:

    http://www.mombloggersclub.com
    http://www.topmommyblogs.com

    Marketing is an ongoing and every day effort! I look forward to your future posts.

    Best wishes,
    Donna

    • Wow, Donna, thanks for these other great links!!! And yes, our marketing conversations at NWCC and CWCC have helped me start to focus more on this very important ingredients of writing. Hope to explore great opportunities together! -Nancy

  2. Nancy, that’s the selling trick – find those who will actually want to buy. I checked out the link and it seems specifically geared to home schoolers. I’d be interested to know if anyone can join up.

    I’m in the process of creating a new site specifically for children’s products.

    And, Donna, thanks for those additional links.

    • Hi Karen, I signed up for it even though I’m not a homeschooler. I said that I wanted to connect with homeschooling families because they are a group that I write for. I wasn’t sure if they would let me join, but they did! It’s worth a try, I think. -Nancy

  3. Nancy:

    I am always impressed by the wealth and breadth of your ideas. Thank you so much for sharing your process with marketing. I look forward to reading more! ~ Grier

    • Thanks Grier! It’s an exciting journey to publish a book and learning how to increase sales makes it even more rewarding. -Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

