Posted by: nancyisanders | December 8, 2010

Marketing: Speaker Tables

I know a speaker who travels across the nation whose target audience is the same as one of my books. I contacted her and asked if she’d be interested in carrying my book at her speaker table.

She was.

She contacted the publisher for sales and purchasing information. Figures came back and she did her own calculating. We spoke and she said she could earn about $1 profit per book. She told me this wasn’t worth her time to order the books, store them in her garage, and haul them to her conferences.

So we went back to the publisher. They were able to lower shipping and tax quotes in such a way that when she recalculated the figures, she determined she could earn $2 profit per book.

This worked for her.

An added benefit I hadn’t thought of was that she told me carrying my book on her table helped draw in people who might not necessarily stop by for her own products. This would invite them to look at her products as well, and hopefully increase sales for her, too!

So now she sells my book at her speaker’s table. I get my royalties from the publisher based on the quantities and discounts she orders.

It’s a win-win situation.

She takes my book where I don’t go. This one effort on my part to make this connection has resulted in actual sales of batches of my books to her.

To me, this kind of marketing of my books is worth my initial investment of time, thought, and energy. It generates actual sales as well as nationwide exposure.

In future posts, we’ll discuss step-by-step how you can do this type of marketing and promotion for your own books as well.


Responses

  1. Sounds great! So how much do you pay her to do this? (Is it the $2 per book?) And how much do u still make off each book, if u don’t mind my asking?
    ~Tina

    • Hi Tina,

      I don’t pay her anything. Any profit she makes is from her sale of the book.

      And that particular book is more expensive in the bookstores than others of mine. So my royalty is higher. I think based on the arrangements/discounts the publisher gives her, I make $1 royalty per book. It’s actually hard to figure out exactly because all the sales blend together in the royalty check, but that’s my guesstimate. We’ll talk more about all this in upcoming posts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

