Posted by: nancyisanders | January 14, 2011

Marketing: Organizations

As I mentioned in my previous post, a private organization purchased about 400 books from my publisher and sold it to its members.

This is the type of connection I want to make:

Efforts to make one contact on my end with the result of a nice bulk sale of my books.

Wouldn’t that be the kind of marketing strategy you’d like to try?

So one of my goals for 2011 is to research private organizations whose members would be interested in my book.

You can do this, too!

For instance, if you wrote a book about caring for your dog, you could try to find a club or organization for dog owners.

If you wrote a book about the constellations, you could try to find an Astronomy Club.

So let’s start looking! Here we goooo!


Responses

  1. Good idea. Now if I can find organizations that have anything to do with Internet predators, youth baseball, kidnapped children, and the West in the late 1890s and early 1900s.

    Whew. Have lots of work, but at least I now have a goal. Thanks.

    • Wow, Vivian, you have some fantastic projects under your belt!!! The way I’m trying to do this is just one connection at a time. Otherwise it can feel overwhelming. But I figure even one solid connection is a big step in the right direction, especially if it can provide such a bulk sale as this connection did. -Nancy

  2. I’m thinking about beginning with the children kidnapped by family member.

  3. This is how I’ve been marketing Just for the Moment: The Remarkable Gift of the Therapy Dog. I’ve given seminars at independent & assisted living, spoken at writers’ guilds, invited therapy dog groups in that town to attend with their dogs, and I’ve had signings at Yappie Hours for doggie boutiques, and my books are also in hospital gift shops. You are right. YOU have to find your audience and GO TO. Deanna K. Klingel

    • Good for you Deanna!!! And congratulations on your book. It sounds wonderful! -Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

