Posted by: nancyisanders | April 2, 2011

B is for Book

Did you know that it gets your blog up front and personal to editors and publishers when you post a book review on your blog?

What am I talking about?

When you post a book review, especially if it’s a book you highly recommend, the editor for the book and the publisher of that book take notice. Even the agent of that book will find out.

How do I know?

Because I’ve had editors e-mail me and say, “Look what someone posted on their blog about your book!” And then give me the link to someone’s blog.

I’ve had my publicists e-mail me to say the same thing AND also snail mail me print outs of someone’s site where they reviewed my book.

I’ve even gotten e-mails from a publisher of my book that says, “We’re circulating this e-mail of your book review to all the biggie biggies at our publishing company to let them know what people are saying about your book.”

I’ve even had publishers contact me and ask me to post book reviews of MORE of their book titles when they know I post book reviews of one of their books.

So if you’re really interested in getting published by a certain publisher, or want to try to connect with a certain editor at a certain publishing house, start posting on your blog reviews of their current books or interviews of the authors who wrote those books.

Here’s the link where you can see some of the interviews and book reviews I’ve had here on my blog.

This strategy can work for agents, too. If you’re trying to target a specific agent, look up on their website who their clients are, start reading their books, and post reviews or author interviews on your blog.

It’s a great strategy to start building name recognition with the publisher or agent you want to connect with.


Responses

  1. I didn’t know any of this, what a great idea.
    Nancy
    N. R. Williams, The Treasures of Carmelidrium.

  2. Great information about books and publishers, Nancy…Thanks for the update and the hints to help…Have one small book of poetry, but have ideas for a small diary book…
    Happy Blog Challenge…
    http://timeforabucketlist.blogspot.com/
    http://imagesinthought.blogspot.com/
    http://the-old-story-tree.blogspot.com/
    http://bagladythoughts.blogspot.com/

  3. This is a great thing to keep in mind. I don’t do many reviews, and I think I’d only want to review books I really loved. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

