Posted by: nancyisanders | April 9, 2011

H is for Hat

I’m not really a “hats” person, but I have started my own collection of hats.

Editor’s hats, that is.

I don’t particularly like to edit my own work, so to help me see it as more of a light-hearted, albiet necessary, task, I have 2 editor’s hats I can wear while I’m self-editing.

One is a floppy beach hat. I velcroed editing tools such as a sticky note-pad, a red pen, a highlighter, and white-out on it. It’s got all my editing tools handy…on my head…right within reach.

The other is a Sherlock Holmes detective hat I bought for this purpose. That way I can pretend I’m a detective looking to spot all the mistakes in my manuscript and eradicate those criminals!

So if you have a task you don’t like to do as a writer such as editing, marketing, or even sitting down and writing…just start a hat collection that you can wear. Then put on that hat and an automatic smile will light up your face. Chances are, you’ll start tending to that task after all!


Leave a Reply

Categories

