Posted by: nancyisanders | May 8, 2011

Deadline Digest: Takeover

I have taken over the house.

I had a conversation with Jeff a couple of days ago…and he said, “Go ahead!” (What a great guy!)

So it’s official. I’ve spread out and am occupying nearly every space in our house to help me accomplish my deadlines on time.

I mean…right now I have the entire Civil War in my head. (Not bad for never having studied this era before.)

I have about 150 important images I have to keep track of from a variety of historical societies and repositories.

I have nearly 50 books I’m referring to back and forth as I’m double-checking and triple-checking all my facts in my rapidly approaching 35,000 word nonfiction manuscript.

And that’s just the ONE book deadline.

So, I thought I’d let you actually peek at my house right now. So come on in! Look around! Here’s what you’ll find:


This is one of two desks I use in our office. This is the OFFICIAL space for my book deadline that’s a writing curriculum. You can see the research books I’m using, the files I’m working out of, and the folders I’m creating.


Hi! Here I am at my main desk with my desktop computer. This is where I’m fact-checking past chapters I’ve already written in my Civil War book. You can see research books on the left and research books on the right and notes next to the computer to keep me on track.

These are the pocket folders I’m working out of for my Civil War book. One is for images that are actually going in the book. Another is for activities I’m writing. Another is for research notes I’m collecting for each chapter. Another is for information I have to gather to send with my Author’s Packet when I submit my manuscript. Another is for images I’m NOT going to use, just in case I decide to use them. Another is for ideas I’m going to use on the Website I’m building for when the book is released. Plus, you can see other folders for other book projects I have in the works…as you can see, it takes a lot of files to write a book of this size.

This is (was) our dining room table. I’m using it as my storyboard. I’m printing out a thumbnail of every image that goes in the book and the order it’s in. Plus, I have notes for what I need to finish up in each chapter. And my outlines for the last 2 chapters I’m trying to finish up by next week. And down at the far end of the table, you can see fabric I bought that I’m getting ready to sew to make a couple of more crafts for the book.

And these are just SOME of the rooms I’ve taken over. In the kitchen, I’ve taken over the breakfast bar where I set out my daily schedule and inspirational verses and TOP PRIORITY TO DO list. Next to our piano I’ve got a stack of research books where I sit and do solid reading on various topics I reach.

And here’s the cardtable I put up to hold my main research books so I can see what I have at a glance and grab what I need when I need it.

I usually reach this “takeover” point when I hit my deadline wall. When our kids were little, we didn’t have much space so I’d put up card tables and trays. One time I wrote a series of bulletin board books and I created entire bulletin boards (ACTUAL SIZE!) on the floors in our house.

Now it’s a lot easier since we’re empty nesters.

But I had to get all that information stored up in my head out in plain sight. I had to spread everything out so I wouldn’t lose anything or forget to add anything important to my books. I had to takeover places I can let my book project sit in various forms for the next 5 1/2 weeks so I can get it finished on time and finished well.

Thanks for visiting! I’d love to peek at where your work space is right now, too…snap some pictures and post then on your blog, then include the link in your comment if you want to share!


Responses

  1. Happy Mother’s Day!!

    http://helpfulannalisa.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/mum-mom-momma-mama/

    Smiles,
    Anna

    • Happy Mother’s Day, one and all! Hugs, Nancy

  2. Nancy,
    You are so blessed to have such a supportive husband!
    Happy Mother’s Day!
    Blessings,
    Jan

  3. How funny, Nancy! Guess you’ll be eating out a lot! I’m praying for you!
    ~Tina

    • Thanks for your prayers, Tina! And actually, I schedule in an hour for cooking dinner each day from 5 to 6…and we eat at our little kitchen table. Sometimes in the last week or two of a deadline, it’s pizza every night but I haven’t gotten to that…yet! Hugs, Nancy PS How is your deadline coming along?


Leave a Reply

Categories

