Posted by: nancyisanders | May 24, 2011

Deadline Digest: Looking Back, Looking Ahead

A milestone has been reached…

Yesterday morning I finished the first draft of my nonfiction book for kids on the Civil War era.

Then yesterday evening I read/skimmed the entire 220-page manuscript from beginning to end until it felt like my eyeballs might fall out. Lol.

I had to look back over the entire thing that I’ve been working on since last August so I could get the whole book in my head again. I’ve got to do this because now I have to go back and edit and plug in info and fill in holes and fact check and tackle my endless to-do list of things I gotta do to get this book manuscript ready to submit.

But I thought it would also be interesting for you to know that I’m also looking ahead.

Knowing this book deadline is coming to an end, I’m looking forward to my year ahead.

That’s why I had a really long phone conversation with my agent last week. She asked me how my deadline is coming along and then she brainstormed with me for new book ideas. After our phone conversation, per her request, I got a query together and e-mailed it to her with an idea for a brand new book.

She e-mailed me today and said she loves the idea and will be sending it out immediately to look for a prospective publisher.

If I didn’t have an agent, I’d be sending out queries like mad right now with the goal of landing book deadlines for next year.

Looking back…looking ahead…it’s the name of the game if we want to earn income as writers.

If you don’t have any deadlines lined up for next year, make it your goal to send out queries until you do. Try sending one query a month or one a week or even once a day. Follow the steps I list in my book, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Career.

You can do this, too! I did this as a beginning writer and now it’s still part of my routine.

So what are you gonna do? Send out one query a month or one a week or one a day? Let us know so we can pray for you to reach your goals!


Responses

  1. Congratulations on your first draft! So are any of your book contracts already lined up for next year via your agent?
    ~Tina

    • Thanks, Tina! And I have about 6 books under contract that I still have to write…but those are mostly in different series to complete that are under contract to write over several years…so I have plenty to do. Lol. -Nancy

  2. One a day! I’m almost ready to try it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

