Posted by: nancyisanders | June 6, 2011

Deadline Digest: Double Check

I said I’d get back to you when I heard back from my editor about my wordcount that’s 4,000 words over the limit and about submitting 2 hard copies of my manuscript in the submission.

I hadn’t heard from him yet, so I picked up the phone and called him on Friday.

I’m glad I did!

First of all, he said that 4,000 words over the limit should be fine. He said he’d let me know if I need to chop it any more after he sees it. Whew! That saves me hours of work.

Secondly, he said that the contract’s requirement of 2 hard copies is outdated! No hard copies needed ’cause I can just send him everything on a disc now. I’m glad I checked! Not only does this save me all that time printing out 250 pages, twice, but the cost of ink and paper and shipping is A LOT to save.

I’ve run across a couple of contracts lately that I’ve been required to sign, but they still have some items on them that sound a little bit behind the times with electronic stuff. I checked on the other one, too, and they said to just disregard it. So if you are in doubt, just double check before you do something like that.

Another thing my editor shared was a tip I want to share with you. He said, “Send us the word document of your manuscript and also save it as a pdf file.” I didn’t know how to do that, so he explained that I click on “Print” but when the window pops up, I click “pdf” file instead of print and it saves a copy as a pdf file, too. He said he likes to have that one because if he starts editing the word document, he always has the pdf file to refer to.

Then he told me how to organize my 143 images I’m submitting for the book by giving them a code for each chapter and then in order within the chapter like:
101, 102, 103, 104 for chapter 1

and 201, 202, 203, 204…for chapter 2, etc.

So after I got off the phone with him, I organized all of the photos and matched them to their spot in the manuscript with the same code within the manuscript.

That took me several hours, but since I didn’t have any more words to chop, I didn’t mind it at all! I just put on some great music and made a nice afternoon of it all.


Responses

  1. Praise God you called him! Glad to hear the good news and how it’s coming along.
    ~Tina


Leave a Reply

Categories

