Posted by: nancyisanders | June 8, 2011

Summer Reads: Book in a Month

Since summer is here, I thought it would be fun to talk about the writing books we have on our bookshelves.

And I thought it would also be fun to share what good how-to-write books we’re reading this summer.

As a writer, I always try to be reading books on writing. I picked up two this past month and have grand plans for reading them this summer.

I’m so excited to get started on this newest addition to my writer’s bookshelves. It’s called Book in a Month: The Fool-Proof System for Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Victoria Lynn Schmidt and is published by Writer’s Digest.

Now, before you start thinking I’m going to write a novel this summer…I’m not! Lol. That’s the last thing I need after finishing these 2 intense book deadlines.

But I love reading “how to write novel” books because the tips and techniques really come in handy as a children’s writer, believe it or not!

So here’s a secret I’m gonna share (if you promise not to tell!) And this is the truth. I like to have a how-to-write book in my bathroom. Then, once or twice a day I pick it up and read a page or two. Isn’t that funny?

So if you’d like to read a how-to-write book this summer along with me, join in the fun! Chances are you’ve got a couple on your shelves you haven’t read yet.

And if you don’t have time to read them, just do like I do. Keep them you know where and when you do you know what, just read a page!

And let us know what you learn. About writing.

I’ll let you know what I’m learning from Book in a Month!


Responses

  1. Sounds like a GREAT book Nancy. I’m planning on reading How to Write a Children’s Picture Book, Volumes I, II, and III by Eve Heidi Bine-Stock and Word Magic for Writers by Cindy Rogers.
    Happy Reading! Margaret

  2. Ooooh, Margaret, Eve’s books are my absolute favorites! Just knowing you’re reading them makes me want to read them again and again, too! And I’ve never heard of Word Magic for Writers, but it sounds fantastic. Please, please, please let us know what you think of it! It sounds like a definite new addition to my bookshelves just from the title alone.

  3. You’re so funny, Nancy. I am reading “20 Master Plots (And How to Build Them)” by Ronald B. Tobias. And guess where it is! You got it.

    • Lol…what do they say? Great minds think alike? :o)
      PS Let us know how you like this book! Sounds great!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

