Posted by: nancyisanders | June 10, 2011

Summer Reads: Book in a Month

Wow! I’m really enjoying reading this book, Book in a Month: The Fool-Proof System for Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Victoria Lynn Schmidt.

I’ve discovered this is THE BEST book to read right after finishing a deadline. Plus, it’s THE BEST book to read if not really working on any clear goals for writing. Plus, it’s THE BEST book to read if you want to write a children’s book but just keep getting nowhere fast.

I’ve only made it through the first 2 sections: the Introduction and the Five Secrets of BIAM, and already I’m feeling so motivated as a writer and ideas are pouring into my brain!

This book should really say: The Foolproof System for Writing a BOOK in 30 days. Any book.

I mean, the advice it gives in these first 2 sections really have helped me get motivated and break down writer’s block. I’ve got some books I’ve wanted to write for years and the unfinished drafts are sitting out in my file cabinets. Picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels…

But to think I could follow these guidelines and actually finish the first draft of any book I’ve started IN JUST ONE MONTH is really freeing to me!

This book is very motivating and very, very practical…

Now, I haven’t reached any of the worksheets yet that are in this book, but I can hardly wait to get there and see how these will help me, too. I’ll keep you posted!


Responses

  1. Hi Nancy:

    What an endorsement! Especially that you have an amazing writing career. I’ll have to check this out!

    Have a great weekend,
    Donna

  2. Thanks for everything. The motivation to read a motivating book this summer and so much more.
    I will take my notes from The Working Writer’s Club with me and various teleclasses (some of which you have taught) on our trip to Florida. We are moving in a few days. Therefore, I haven’t been writing much during the packing stage. I also have a notebook of other writer’s newsletters I will read and study. It is a long trip so I should be very motivated by the time I get there. đŸ™‚

    I did, however, get a contract from Clubhouse Magazine for three pieces I submitted. I have you to thank for all of this, Nancy. If you hadn’t been at the GPCWC in Philly last August, these contracts would not have come about. I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I love the way the Lord works “all things” together for our good.

    It was your idea to suggest some fillers to the editor also which I did and will have two of those published. Thanks a bunch for who you are. You’re great!

    • Wow, Marlene! I’m so blessed that you’re being blessed. Thanks for sharing the good news. And I pray your move goes smoothly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

