Posted by: nancyisanders | June 20, 2011

Summer Reads: Book #2

Summer is the time for reading…reading at the beach…reading at a mountain cabin…reading by the pool…reading, reading, reading!

And for my reading smorgasbord this summer, I picked out two how-to-write books. The second book is The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing Poetry by Nikki Moustaki.

As a children’s writer, I know it’s important to learn all I can about poetry. Children’s stories benefit so much from using techniques that revolve around rhyme, rhythm, and repetition.

So I decided during my next season of writing, I’m going to study…really study the fine art of writing poetry. And polish my skills as a children’s writer in this area as much as I can!

How’s your summer reading coming along?


Leave a Reply

Categories

