Posted by: nancyisanders | June 24, 2011

Summer Reads: Poetry Terms



The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing Poetry

by Nikki Moustaki

Already as I’m reading this how-to-write poetry book this summer, I’m learning so much! For example, just after the introduction, it gives a brief overview of terms used in poetry. Here’s what’s on my list, so far, that I’m compiling a mini-dictionary of in my Poetry Journal:

Imagery
Metaphor
Repetition
Music (did you know poetry has elements of music in it?)
Rhyme
Alliteration
Consonance
Assonance
Meter
Language

Wow! The amazing thing is that each and every single one of these terms used in poetry are also important terms used in prose and used especially in writing for children!

So not only am I learning the definition of all these terms right now in this book (and writing them down in my journal), but the author, Nikki Moustaki, promises me that in later sections she’s going to give lots of examples of how they’re used in poetry and even give us exercises to try them out ourselves.

I can hardly wait!


Leave a Reply

Categories

