Posted by: nancyisanders | June 27, 2011

Summer Reads: Charts

BOOK IN A MONTH: THE FOOL-PROOF SYSTEM FOR WRITING A NOVEL IN 30 DAYS
Victoria Schmidt

I was reading my book and hit the section that says: 10 Steps to Overcome Resistance.

I immediately thought this sounded very, very practical. Now that’s I’m planning on using this book as a guide to finish up the middle grade novel I started a LONG time ago, I knew I never finished it cause I have been obviously resisting working on it.

So I read Step #1.

Create an Outline.

And immediately my heart sank. I mean, if I was motivated enough to create an outline in the first place, I probably wouldn’t be stuck on writing this book.

But then I read the next sentences. Here’s what the book says:

We provide the outline for you.
Use the fold-out sheets to chart your progress.

Wow! I mean wow! They even give me a chart to make my outline!!!

And then, in Step #2 Break the writing down into small, doable tasks, this book says:

WE BREAK DOWN ALL THESE TASKS AND PROVIDE ADVICE AND EXERCISES TO SUPPORT THE PROCESS.

Now, this is MY kind of book! I can hardly wait to reach the part in the book where I find all these handy dandy charts to fill out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

