Posted by: nancyisanders | August 10, 2011

Summer Reads: Fun Fiction

This summer I’m trying to read lots and lots!

One thing I’m enjoying reading is Young Adult and Middle Grade fiction. I’m really trying to pay attention to story details and look at these books from the perspective of a writer, not just a reader.

I just finished reading A Wrinkle in Time. Wow. I’ve read it several times before, but I really examined it closely now, from my perspective as a writer. It is simply amazing as far fresh new concepts and plot and character development.

I also read the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I just loved it! She was such a talented writer. Even though she was writing a autobiography, she really worked in a lot of storytelling techniques such as plot development and character development.

I’ve grown so much this summer in my awareness of character development and plot development from the numerous fiction books I’ve been reading.

For each book I’m reading, I’m tracking it in my special journal I keep for books I’ve read. I write down the first and last lines, my thoughts about the book, plus all the key info about copyright date/publisher, etc.

What children’s books are you reading this summer…from the perspective of a writer? And how has this influenced you as a writer?


Responses

  1. I’ve been getting orders from my nieces, nephews and children on what to draw and read lately. Its fun to see their delight in words, pictures, and things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

