Posted by: nancyisanders | August 22, 2011

Summer Reads: Book in a Month

If you’ve been reading my blog this summer, you know I’ve been doing a lot of reading. After four intense book deadlines last year from September to June, I was ready for a break with lots of R & R.

So instead of writing under the pressure of deadlines with mountains of research to complete, I read my way through these sunny days of summer. One of the books I’ve been reading is BOOK IN A MONTH: THE FOOL-PROOF SYSTEM FOR WRITING A NOVEL IN 30 DAYS by Victoria Schmidt.

This week also, I pulled out a couple of “friends” from my bookshelves: two books by Sid Fleischman. One was Jim Ugly and the other was the Newbery winner, The Whipping Boy.

I was smitten. And suddenly, I was bitten.

I was smitten with a love for Fleischman’s writing of middle grade novels. And I was bitten by the writing bug. Again!

So, even though summer vacation isn’t over yet (my teacher husband, Jeff, doesn’t return to work until August 31) I set aside my “reading” and started writing again. This time I decided to write a middle grade novel using Fleischman’s award-winning strategies as a format along with Victoria Schmidt’s book as a guide.

So I thought perhaps you’d like to join me in my journey! Here on my blog, I’ll be sharing step by step and day by day what I’m doing to write a brand new middle grade novel from start to finish.

So come along and join the fun! Grab a new box of computer paper and a back-up package of ink or toner. We’ll be moving fast through lots of pages and multiple drafts and revisions and rewrites, so it’s important to be prepared.

Isn’t this exciting to get started on a new adventure?!

Here we gooooooo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

