Posted by: nancyisanders | October 7, 2011

Welcome to My World

Sometimes I think it’s fun to share with you a peek into the inside world of a working writer.

As you may already know, I write full time part of the time. This means that since my husband is a teacher, I take the summer months off. I try to take as much of a break from writing as I can to get all refreshed and charged up to go again.

Then, from September through mid-June, I write Monday through Friday most days from 9:00 to 5:00 with a break for lunch in the middle. That’s my writing schedule right now.

This week I’ve been busy all week working on a book deadline I have. It’s the sixth and final book in a homeschooling writing curriculum I writing for the great folks at WriteShop.

But a career writer usually has lots of other things going on at the same time. If I want to have a steady diet of book contracts throughout the year, I have to always have other book projects going on in different phases.

So on Monday, after spending the last month researching dusty and forgotten tomes, I finalized a children’s nonfiction book proposal and sent it to my agent. Now she’s going to shop it around to the editors who expressed interest in our initial query as well as others who might want the topic on their list.

Then Wednesday night, a 76-page pdf file arrived on my computer! Book D from WriteShop Junior is going to print and I need to check through it looking for those elusive typos one last time.

And yesterday (Thursday) when I woke up, in my inbox was another large file from a different publisher. My new book Frederick Douglass for Kids is getting ready to be sent to the copyeditor. Publication date is projected for June, 2012. My task is to go through the 200+ page manuscript and answer any questions/requests for revisions that my new Project Editor sent my way.

And all week long, I’ve been preparing for teaching a 4-session workshop in my home on how to write a Middle Grade novel. That’s our kitten Pitterpat in the picture helping me get ready!

Needless to say, it’s been an exciting week here with lots of fun stuff going on!

What’s been happening in your corner of the writing world? Let us know and we can all do a happy dance for you!


Responses

  1. Love Write-Shop! Our daughter was in Write-Shop classes school year of 2001-02. I will need an entire month to read your blogs and looking forward to it! 🙂 Thank you for such amazing body of work! And congratulations on publishing Middle School Write-Shop! Great!!

    • What a small world this is, Annette! Thanks for your kudos. Hugs, Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

