Posted by: nancyisanders | October 21, 2011

Author Interview: Karen Whiting

Meet Author Karen Whiting!
Web site:
Karen Whiting: Author, Speaker and Media Personality
Blog: Fun Faith 4 Girls
Facebook: http://on.fb.me/qwiovN

Bio:
Karen Whiting, a freelance writer and author of thirteen nonfiction books, loves to let creativity splash onto the page as she writes. Karen’s books include the popular tween series God’s Girls (inspirational craft books) and her newest, a devotional, The 365 Most Important Bible Passages for Women. She served as a contributing writer for Focus on the Family’s parenting magazine for two years and writes a time management column for Enrichment Magazine.

Her work has appeared in numerous publications, including Focus on the Family magazine, Devo’zine, The Lookout, and Today’s Christian Woman. Karen formerly hosted Puppets on Parade, an educational television series. She speaks for women’s groups, retreats, schools, and mother-daughter events. Karen and her husband Jim enjoy their five children and eight grandchildren.

Karen lives on Maryland’s eastern shore which is full of various varieties of birds, flowers, and butterflies. Karen enjoys having children in her neighborhood over to make chocolates or crafts.

Featured Book
God’s Girls #1:
Devotions and Activities for Ages 9-12

by Karen Whiting

For parents:
If you’re a parent or grandparent of a girl age 9-12, or someone who works with or mentors girls, then you know helping girls learn to be faithful Christians is important. This book combines craft activities with a spiritual theme that engage a girl’s interest and help them become women after God’s own heart. It’s a fun and easy resource for girls to make cool crafts, learn about women of the Bible, and write down their deepest thoughts in journaling spaces.

For girls:
Hey, Girls, get ready to add some sparkle to your looks and a lot of fun to your life. God’s Girls is packed with tips and ideas to help you make cool crafts. Plus you will read about Bible women and learn how to be a faithful Christian. There’s even space included to write your deepest thoughts and dreams. Join the fun and be a God’s Girl.

Interview:
Q: Describe a highlight for you personally while you were writing this book.
A:
Holding creative parties at my home for girls to make the crafts. I so enjoyed seeing girls read the devotions and then create something. It’s especially fun to watch girls add their own creative twist on crafts.

Q: What is your favorite genre to write in at this point of your career?
A:
Whatever one I’m writing at the time. I really get into my current topic. I always want to nurture families and grow tomorrow’s families. I see how each book fits into that concept and that’s what sparks my passion.

Q: Describe your typical writing schedule.
A:
I generally write from 9 am to 4 or 5 pm with a long break to exercise (I have either aerobics, water aerobics, or zumba each morning). I start with checking emails and listing what I need to accomplish that day. I do have an overall plan of how much I must write on my current book daily and schedule time in for that. Some days are different if I have a radio interview or speaking engagement. Tuesdays I end earlier to run errands, have dinner out with my husband, and then help with Bible study at the US Navy Academy (with OCF — Officers’ Christian Fellowship). I seldom write on weekends.

Q: Share one tip you would like to give to another writer.
A:
1. Set goals of what you can control (i.e. how much to write daily or weekly, how often to submit) and stay focused on those goals.
2. Read the writer’s market a few minutes each day to learn the markets and see what needs you could meet.


Responses

  1. Karen, thanks for sharing your writing journey with us! Best wishes on your book. May it touch the hearts of many girls in a powerful (and fun!) way.
    Hugs, Nancy

  2. Karen,
    Met you at Philly WriteHisAnswer conference and you even gave me a ride with all of my luggage. Thanks again. Was sorry to hear you didn’t like MD; I didn’t either but I don’t live there any more.
    Blessings!
    Jan (Parys)

  3. Karen,
    Thank you so much for planning time to meet with me at the Colorado Christian Writer’s Conference. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and honesty.

    God Bless,
    Laura Ratcliff


Leave a Reply

Categories

