Posted by: nancyisanders | October 26, 2011

Internet Marketing: Website for Writing-Related Theme

I know that many of you might not yet have a book published.

So I came up with an idea to help you learn how to design your own writing-related website while you’re waiting for your first book contract and your first book web page.

Build a website for a writing-related theme!

In other words, build a website on a theme you want to write about whether for magazines or in a book.

After all, most publishers these days really want you to have an Internet presence BEFORE they offer you a book contract. And having a website built on a writing-related theme will give you the edge over the other writers whose manuscripts land in their submission pile.

Just for clarification, a website is NOT a blog. Once you build it, you don’t do a thing to it. It can sit in cyberspace for years and be your free advertising and you never have to spend another minute on it after you’ve built it. So this is a very time-efficient and effective (and did I mention free?) way to really market yourself as a writer and market your book…all around the world!

I’m going to show you step-by-step how to do this, based on guidelines I’ve received over the years from big time publicists who my publishers have assigned to work personally with me to help market my books and myself as an author.

For starters, I invite you to visit one of my websites that I built around a writing-related theme.

7 Healthy Habits is a topic that is near and dear to my heart.

And here’s the challenge…as you follow along with my blog in the days and weeks ahead, don’t just READ it. DO it!

Choose to either build a free website for your book or choose to build a free website for a writing-related theme.

Post a comment here today and commit to building either a book website (if you have a book out) or a writing-related theme website. Even if you have other blogs or websites, you can still follow along and do the exercises I’ll be sharing so you gain experience following the guidelines of professional publicists in the industry.


Responses

  1. why not… but it makes me rather nervous!!!!!!!

    • Hip hip hooray, Nicole! Hopefully building this site will take away some of your jitters!

  2. Hi Nancy,

    Thanks so much for a wonderful post! I will commit to following along and trying to build a writing-related theme website. That is one thing that I truly lack right now.

    So, I am in….

    Blessings,
    Irene

  3. Great idea, Nancy! Ok, I’m on board with the themed website idea. I’ll be excited to see how to do it in your upcoming posts! Thank you!!!

    Val

    • Super, Val! I’m excited to see how this will shape up for you.

  4. I was so excited and thankful that you would take the time to help others do this. I don’t have a book published but I do have a middle grade novel. Should I build one around the novel even if it isn’t published or pick a theme? I am SOOOOO looking forward to this!

    • Louise, this is such a great question!!! Let me “answer” it and give suggestions in my actual blog post, hopefully tomorrow’s (Friday).

  5. Yes! I am going to build a website for my virtual school e-books!

    • Oh, I’m so glad this will help with your marketing plans!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

