Posted by: nancyisanders | November 7, 2011

Internet Marketing: Design Your Own Header

If you are using a theme in WordPress for the appearance of your website that lets you design your own header, here’s what to do to upload your own photograph for the header. (This blog uses the theme Ocean Mist which lets you do this.)

First, move several of your favorite pictures to your desktop where they will be easy to access. (Save them as jpgs on your desktop for easy use.) It’s good to have several here because some might not work when you try to fit them into your header.

These photographs should be pictures you took on your digital camera. They can be directly related to your writing theme or they can have your published book showcased with related objects surrounding it.

Here are the steps to take:
1. Go to the Dashboard.
2. In the left column click on “Appearance.”
3. In the middle click on “Header.”
4. Click on “Choose File”
5. Click on “Desktop”
6. Find your favorite picture and select.
7. If you get an error message, it’s probably because your picture isn’t a jpg file. Save it to your desktop as a jpg.
8. WordPress will require you to crop your photo to fit in the header. Try to expand this crop area as large as possible. If you don’t like the area it’s forcing you to crop, you have 2 options: Choose a different “theme” for the “appearance” menu that allows you to choose a bigger header OR choose a different picture to use that has an area of the photograph that’s the size you have to crop it.
9. Click “Crop and Publish.”
10. Click on the name of your website at the top of the page and look to see if your header is what you want.

If you have any questions, just ask. I’m not an expert on WordPress, but I’ve used it for a couple of years, so I know some things about it.


Responses

  1. May I present my first efforts? Still alot of work to do…

    http://nicolesnitselaar.wordpress.com/

    http://thedayhoneyranout.wordpress.com/

    • Salut, Nicole,
      I love your 2 websites: The picture book one is clean and beautiful, and the picture on the other one is brilliant–the cat sitting serenely among a beehive of activities, as if it were in full control of the situation. Ha-ha!
      (Je chercherai vos livres à Fnac quand j’irrai en France.)

      • Merci beaucoup!
        Bravo pour votre français!
        Bon courage en ces moments difficiles…

  2. Nicole, both your sites are beautiful!!! Congratulations!!!! I’m so excited to see how much work you’ve done already. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you! But I think it strained alot of my little energie! I am now resting… 🙂
      Thank you for your help and pushing me into this exciting work!

      • Nancy, do you know if there is a way not to have my books in alphabétic order in the black band under the picture? It was a rather bad surprise!!!!!!

      • Yes! There is!!! I’ll tell how to do this next week in my posts here on the blog. Great questions!

      • oh, and i would like to find another solution than having all my books in the header… I prefer when that black band is much smaller (not as wide!)
        On my french blog, I can have my books on the side bar… Is it possible?

      • Again, yes! I’ll show how to do this soon in upcoming posts as well.

  3. Though I’m not feeling up to building a website right now (2 deaths in my family this past month!), I’m following your posts with much interest, and I want to thank you for your gifts of knowledge through the years.

    • Oh, Anne, I’m so sorry to hear of your sadness. And thank you for your kind words. I pray you will be comforted in your loss. Hugs, Nancy

  4. great! I’ll have to be patient and stop messing things around!!! I lost “Home” and “about” and forgot what I did, because of a phone call in between!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

