Posted by: nancyisanders | January 11, 2012

Welcome to My World!

If you’ve wondered where I disappeared to, let’s just say this…I was there and back again!

As you’ve probably noticed, I haven’t posted anything on my blog for quite a while. For starters, I took a couple of weeks of vacation away from the computer over the Christmas and New Year’s holidays.

Once those joy-filled days of relaxation and fun had passed, I rolled up my sleeves and got busy, busy, busy tackling the last and final pages of a book deadline I’ve been working on since September.

And today, I’m happy to say that I finished that book and e-mailed it off to my editor. Hip hip hooray!!!!

A fun note to add is that while I was sitting at my computer preparing the 14 files to e-mail my editor today, I saw the UPS guy walk up my sidewalk and drop a package off at my door…

To my joy and delight, the proofs for my forthcoming book, FREDERICK DOUGLASS FOR KIDS, just arrived. Wahooooo!

It’s the first time I’ve seen the manuscript in its book form with the layout of pictures and design. Since I wrote it a year ago, it was all so fresh and so wonderful that I spent the next 2 hours or so looking through it and laughing and crying all at the same time.

So…what’s next? I get to read through the proofs with a fine-toothed comb and get all the error corrections (like mis-labeled picture or missing caption, etc.) back to my project editor by January 30.

Good thing I got my other deadline done today!

(And stay tuned, all those of you who have been following along here to learn more about designing your website. In a couple more days, I’ll get back to that topic and share some more exciting things you can do to help market yourself as an author along with your books.)


Responses

  1. Welcome back. I’m excited about my one ebook and know God only gives me what I can handle but I do love my ebook, Lightning, The Horse, but if I wrote as many as you, I’d probably be overwhelmed. I am working on a hist. fiction called “Slave to Slave Owner” about a New Bernian who was the richest man in Craven County in 1824. His former owner and wife were two of the founders of the First Presbyterian church in NB.

    • Congratulations on your new book, Jan. Best wishes as you share it with the world.

  2. Way to go, Nancy! Sounds like an auspicious beginning to a new year, and may this be a great one. Congratulations on the arrival of the proofs.

    • Thanks, Mirka! It was so nice to hear from you. How is your writing coming along?

  3. How exciting! Well you better get back to work to finish those deadlines!

  4. Glad to hear from u here again! I missed reading your posts. Congrats on all the great things going on in your writing world!
    ~Tina

  5. Aww, Nancy, this is so wonderful. It must be like like seeing your baby when its first born, what a joy. So happy for you and I know you poured yourself into this project, it’s going to be a gem and I can’t wait to read it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

