Posted by: nancyisanders | January 17, 2012

Internet Marketing: Adding Pages to Your Website

Welcome back to our discussion on building a website to help market yourself as an author or your book. To read all the posts I’ve put up here on my blog over the last few months, start back at the beginning on my first post October 24, 2011 where it all started and follow through by reading them. To help you navigate through all of them, they all start with the same title as this post: Internet Marketing.

In my most recent posts during December, we were talking about building the home page for your website. Let me know if you have any questions about that.

In this post I’d like to focus on adding other pages to your website. If you’re building a website to market yourself as an author, you can add a different page for each major theme that relates to the book or writing project you’re representing on your site. You can see what I mean by looking at my website One Hour Each Day.

On this particular site, I’m focusing on a manuscript I’m working on that covers a topic near and dear to my heart…spending time each day alone with God. You can see that the pages I’ve added organize my main idea into different subtopics.

Here are some of the pages I’ve added that are topic-related:
Conversations with God
Finding Time
A Beautiful Invitation

Other pages I’ve added, however, are more basic and universal. Make sure your site has these kind of pages to connect with your reader on a practical level. These pages give information about who you are as an author, your websites, and your contact information if you want to include it. I’ll be talking more about these pages in an upcoming post.

This website, One Hour Each Day, is an example of a site of mine that is still under construction. The first page looks like a blog (because I used to blog about this topic). But now I’m converting it into a website so that the posts will appear grouped together as page topics instead of posts. One of the last steps I’ll take will be to totally revamp the initial page which is currently full of posts and make it look like the Home Page of a website instead.


Leave a Reply

Categories

