Posted by: nancyisanders | January 25, 2012

Submitting Your Book for Awards

It’s that time of year again!

It’s January, and time to think ahead…about any upcoming books of yours that will be published in 2012.

If you have a new book coming out this year, it’s important for you to start thinking about submitting your book for awards.

I learned this lesson the hard way.

One of my earliest books was published in October one year.
It came out in October. Hip hip hooray!
Then we got reports of some great sales in November/December. Hip hip hooray!
Then I thought…wow…maybe I should submit this book for awards cause people really seem to like it.

WRONG!

To my shock I discovered that if my book came out in 2009, the deadlines for all the awards were in 2009, even if my book came out in October!!!! Yikes!

So I’m getting ready to start my submissions for awards for my newest book, even though it won’t be published in June. To find out more about how you can make sure your book gets submitted where you want it to be, check out my guest post at Karen Cioffi’s fantastic site for writers!


Responses

  1. Nancy:

    Thank you! Your valuable information has helped me immensely.

    All the best,
    Donna

    • That’s great news, Donna! You’re welcome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

