Posted by: nancyisanders | February 8, 2012

Internet Marketing: Adding Pictures

The second thing Kim Kautzer (from WriteShop) taught me over the phone was how to get photographs to use on my sites. (Thanks again, Kim!)

If you go to Flickr: Creative Commons, you’ll find an amazing assortment of pictures you can use on your blog or site for free!

There are 2 very, very important things to remember:
#1 Always choose from the more than 31 million “ATTRIBUTION LICENSE” photographs. These photographers give you permission to use their photographs for any purpose for free.

#2 Always post the correct link to the photograph that gives the photographer credit.

Here’s how to use this great source:
1. Go to the website of Flickr: Creative Commons.
2. Click on “Attribution License”
3. Type a word in the search box such as “Sunflowers.”
4. Browse the images and click on an image you want to use.
5. Click the “Share” button.
6. Copy the code and then paste it into your site.

Just to show you some of the amazing photographs I got, check out my brand new site I just created last week! It’s a site where I’m now going to sell a series of women’s Bible studies that I wrote over the years. (Hey! If you would like to do one or more of these studies on your own or at your church, e-mail me at jeffandnancys@gmail.com and I’ll give you the details on how to place an order!)

So…check out the great potential Flickr: Creative Commons has for building your sites at the debut of my brand new site:

The Sunflower Series for Women


Responses

  1. Nancy, this is beautiful! Congratulations on all your hard work to make this a welcoming and lovely site.

    Love, Val

  2. Hi Nancy,

    My husband just had a meeting with a web designer who said how important it was to have photos on your site as search engines love them. Each of my posts always has a new photo. I also change my home page photos monthly. So I guess I’m on the right track.

    Just did an interview this week with another prolific children’s author, like yourself, named Margo Sorenson. Hope you or your other readers will stop by for a quick read at http://TheWriteChris.blogspot.com

    Chris

    • Nice to hear from you, Chris! Sounds like you’re working hard on your blog…and great interview! Hugs, Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

