Posted by: nancyisanders | March 21, 2012

Working With a Publicist

Desert View Visitor Center Bookstore_0011

Ever wonder how you as an author can help promote your book and get it out there?

Have you ever thought about working with a publicist?

Well, I’ve had the luxury of working with various publicists over my career.

And the even more amazing thing is that these publicists have all been provided for free to me by various of my publishers. I have been doubly blessed!

Right now I’m working with a brand new publicist who has been assigned to me for the launch of my brand new book that will be released in June, Frederick Douglass for Kids. Josh is doing a great job helping make connections and create a buzz for the launch of my book.

In looking back, I realize that when I first worked with a publicist, I just sat back and waited for her to do all the work. Little did I realize that the publicist was working on a tight timeframe and that as soon as she helped launch my book, she’d be off working for a different author instead.

Now I know that there is a specific amount of time I have to tap into the great energy, expertise, and resources that a publicist offers. For example, my timeframe to work with my current publicist is from now through the summer.

So I’m going to really focus on doing things I can do to help maximize our time working together and benefit sales of my book for quite awhile.

I thought you’d like to come along with me in the days and weeks ahead and learn practical tips on what you can do as an author when you’re working with a publicist. Plus, I thought you’d like to see exactly what kinds of things a publicist does to help promote a book.

So come on and join our new adventure!!! Hopefully you’ll learn tips on how to help promote your own book, too.


Responses

  1. Nancy,

    Hi. I’ll be following your articles about working with a publicist.

    Carol Fraser Hagen

    • Great to have you on board to join in the fun, Carol!

  2. Nancy this is exciting for you and for those of us who will be able to watch here on your blog. Thank you for sharing–I can’t wait to read more.
    Billie
    http://www.billiewilliams.com

  3. How exciting, Nancy! Can’t wait to see what happens!

  4. Thanks Billie and Val! It’s going to be an exciting journey…and together is always more fun.

  5. Nancy,
    Thank you so much for sharing this experience. For a new author like me, this information will be invaluable! I’ll be watching.
    Kathryn

  6. Hi Nancy, looking forward to your future posts.

    All the best,
    Donna
    http://www.thegoldenpathway.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

