Posted by: nancyisanders | March 23, 2012

Publicists: An Author Questionnaire

The first thing the publisher asked me to do to connect with my new publicist was to fill out an Author Questionnaire.

First and foremost, the questionnaire wanted basic information about me such as:

Contact info
My preferences in the order I wished to be contacted (e-mail, cell phone, etc.)
The best times of day to be contacted for media interviews

And the form also asked me to provide a current photograph of myself.

I filled out the info and got out my digital camera.

And while I was at it, I am trying to take lots of photos of myself that include:
headshots
candid photos of me writing
photos of me with interesting backgrounds

When you’re getting ready to release a new book, the more photos you can have on hand the better. I’m creating a folder of my favorite photos and am labeling them “Promotional Photos.”

These are the ones I can have handy to send to different blogs or media interviews so that not everyone has the same one. Especially during a Virtual Book Tour, people don’t want to see the same picture over and over again.

And when I get my new book in the mail (oh happy day!) I’m planning on taking lots of pictures of it with different props and in different backgrounds and with me holding it in different poses as well.

That’s it for the basics…in my next post I’ll list more info that was needed on my Author Questionnaire.


Responses

  1. I think another “Oh happy day” moment would be when you get to fill out an Illustrator Questionairre…I know your illustrations are in your personal journals (based on previous blog posts), but they are beautiful none the less…maybe a Christian book of verses illustrated by you…we’d add more of your books to our Book Nook for sure! Smiles!! Keep up the great work!!

    • You’re so sweet, Anna! And what a fun, fun idea…maybe one day!

  2. Nancy:

    Great post. I especially like the tip of taking several different photos holding one’s book. Great idea!

    Best regards,
    Donna
    http://www.thegoldenpathway.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

