Posted by: nancyisanders | March 26, 2012

Publicists: Review Copies

Newspaper colour

I’m interrupting my posts about filling in the Author Questionairre because I got interrupted…and I want to be giving you an inside peek at what’s going on behind the scenes right now as my publisher is getting ready to launch my new book…so I wanted to share about this instead today.

While my publicist has been busy sending out actual galleys of the book (paper copies of the book but not in final book form because it’s still at the printer) I just heard from my marketing manager, Mary, who is also working hard to create a buzz for my book.

She sent me an e-mail on Friday saying that they are using a service called NetGalley to give digital copies of the book to book reviewers and other similar venues. Here’s the scoop on what she sent to me:

From NetGalley’s website:
“NetGalley delivers secure, digital galleys to professional readers. If you are a reviewer, blogger, journalist, librarian, bookseller, educator, or in the media, you can use NetGalley for FREE to read and request titles before they are published.”

Each request is sent to CRP and those who are requesting the titles are required to provide more information about themselves–if they’re a reviewer, where they review; the library or bookstore they work for; or their connection to the media. We have the ability to approve or deny any request, or to request more information. The electronic file that is downloaded expires after a certain amount of time and is is protected so the files can’t end up on torrent sites or printed out and shared.

So, if you’re a bookseller, librarian, reviewer, or media professional, from now through April you can request a digital galley of Frederick Douglass for Kids at NetGalley.

I’d love to have you review my book! So if you qualify, check it out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

