Posted by: nancyisanders | March 28, 2012

Publicists: Signature

e-mail

My marketing manager, Mary, asked me to help get the word out to media professionals who might want to review my forthcoming book, Frederick Douglass for Kids. (See previous post.)

One of the suggestions she made was for me to include a signature with my e-mails that had a link embedded within it so that with every e-mail I send out, people can click on the link and see NetGalley’s link to request a digital copy of my book.

Just one problemo!

I know how to put a signature in my e-mails.

But I didn’t know how to embed a link within it.

Yikes!

But then suddenly, I had an idea…maybe…just maybe it might work. So I tried it…and it did!

So of course I have to share this with you so you can learn how to embed a link in your signature, too (or other text in an e-mail).

Here’s what to do:
(I did this on my WordPress blog, but hopefully you can do this in blogger or other platform as well.)

1. I created a new page on my blog. (Go to Dashboard, Pages, Add New).
2. On the right for VISIBILITY, make sure you click “Edit” and choose “Private.”
3. Now, you can use this page to create links to use in your e-mail signatures, etc. and nobody else can see it.
4. Type in the message you want to use in your signature. Here’s what I wanted to use:

Booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and media professionals can now request a digital galley of Frederick Douglass for Kids from NetGalley.

5. Now go to the site and copy the URL that you want people to link to.

6. Come back to your new page. Paste this URL into the link feature it has.

7. When done, be sure you’re working now in this step in “Visual” tab. (Before it didn’t matter if you were in “Visual” or “HTML.”)

8. Copy and paste this new text with its embedded link and put it in your signature or other e-mail or anywhere else you want to use it. Here’s what it should look like:

Booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and media professionals can now request a digital galley of Frederick Douglass for Kids from NetGalley.

There! Now be sure to “Publish” your page (remember, it will stay hidden.)

And if you ever need that text/link again, just come back to your dashboard, click on Pages, then “All pages” and you’ll see it sitting there.

Have fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

