Posted by: nancyisanders | April 2, 2012

Publicists: Author Questionnaire

As I mentioned in a previous post, my publisher asked me to fill out an Author Questionnaire to send to my publicist who would be working with me to help launch the release of my new book, Frederick Douglass for Kids.

First thing I needed to fill out on the form was my contact information.

The second thing the form requested was a resume or vitae.

If you don’t have a resume or vitae prepared that reflects who you are as an author, it’s important to prepare one and update it from time to time as you get new publishing credits. It’s essential for using at times like this when a publisher asks you to fill out an Author’s Questionnaire. I keep a resume in my files that I update from time to time. So with a click of a button, I was able to attach my resume to this form.

To create a resume or vitae, include information about any writing societies you are a member of such as SCBWI or the Working Writers Club. Also include information about any writing conferences you might teach at. Include your website and main blog site. If you have numerous sites in cyberspace, just pick one or two main ones to list and then on your actual site include all the links to these other sites.

If you have educational credits or a writing-related expertise (such as a scuba diving license if you wrote an underwater book) include a section for this, too.

Also be sure to include your published credits. This part can change as your writing career develops. At first, I listed the names of various magazines I was published in. Then as I began to get books published, I listed the names of these books along with the names of the publishers.

Your resume can be as short as a paragraph of information. That’s okay! Publishers know we have to start somewhere. Just arrange it in a nice visual presentation with your contact info and website/blog URL and you’re set to go.

If you don’t have one already, I encourage you to make it your goal this week to prepare a resume. Then it’s in your files and you can be updating it as you achieve your writing goals.


Leave a Reply

Categories

