Posted by: nancyisanders | April 23, 2012

Publicists: Author’s Questionnaire

Another thing the Author’s Questionnaire requested was marketing information to help market my new book, Frederick Douglass for Kids.

First, I needed to fill out a list of names, address, and phone numbers of people who could give a positive endorsement of my book to include on the book’s cover or in advertising.

I wanted to let you know about this because this kind of a list isn’t easy to generate. The first time I ever saw this on an Author’s Questionnaire, I didn’t know who to list!

But since I’ve filled out these questionnaires before, I knew it was coming. That’s why I kept a file folder of potential names for this list all during the months I was writing my book. If I ran across the name of someone else who wrote about Frederick Douglass or found contact information for one of his descendants who is still living, I put their name and info in this folder.

So when it was time to fill out the Author’s Questionnaire, I already had a nice, substantial list of names to provide.

I want to encourage you to do the same. Don’t let this wait until after your book is already finished. While you’re working on it, start collecting this list in a special file folder. You never know whose name you might stumble across while you’re digging up research or exploring your topic, and it only takes a second to jot the info down and slip it into this folder.

This is just something to keep in the back of your mind while you’re working on a new book. Look at it as a treasure hunt and it will be much more fun!


Responses

  1. Nancy, do you send a galley to the people you want to endorse your book and ask that they read it and comment?

    • Gloria, the publisher has arranged with NetGalley for people to get a digital galley this month (April) to review. Also, Josh, my publicist, has been sending out galleys to other reviewers. So yes, galleys are a great tool to give to reviewers. Some reviewers want an actual book to review, though, so you need to determine how many free books you want to give away for this and your budget. When I am asking friends to give reviews of my book, I offer to swap reviews with them where I review their book, too, and don’t necessarily send them an actual book. And if Amazon has a look inside the book feature, you can ask your friends to read your book that way for a review.

  2. Here’s a link to see NetGalley and how this process is working for my book:

    Are you a bookseller, librarian, reviewer, or media professional? If so, now through the end of April, you can request a digital galley of Frederick Douglass for Kids from NetGalley.


Leave a Reply

Categories

