Posted by: nancyisanders | April 28, 2012

Publicists: Author’s Questionnaire

There was an entire section on the Author’s Questionnaire asking for marketing information to help market my new book, Frederick Douglass for Kids.

One of the lists they wanted me to give them to send to the publicist was a list of professional societies and organizations that I’m a member OR that would be interested in my book.

Again, since I’ve filled out these questionnaires before, I knew this was coming so I tried to add things to this list over the time I was writing my book.

I didn’t have many entries on this list. Just 3 to be exact. But each topic or each different book you write might have different names on this list.

For example, if you are writing a book about taking care of your pet, different animal societies might be interested in your book. Or if you are writing a book about a special needs character, organizations that support special needs might be interested in hearing about your book.

These groups might even want to endorse your book or sell their book to their own members, so these connections can be a positive influence on sales.

So, keep on eye out for these types of groups as you are researching your topic on the web or writing your book. Collect a list of societies you find and send them to your publicist (or contact them yourself if you don’t have one) and see if a potential connection can be made!


Leave a Reply

Categories

