Posted by: nancyisanders | April 30, 2012

Publicists: Author Questionnaire

As I mentioned in my last post, there was an entire section on the Author’s Questionnaire asking for marketing information to help market my new book, Frederick Douglass for Kids.

One of the other lists they wanted me to give them to send to the publicist was a list of websites that might be interested in reviewing or selling my book. They didn’t need the two main websites: Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Those are places most publishers already contact with information about a new book.

In fact, if you’d like to see my new book listed up on these two sites, here’s a peek! (It’s not actually published yet, but you can pre-order it for when it comes out in June!)

Frederick Douglass for Kids on Amazon.
Frederick Douglass for Kids on Barnes and Noble.

My publisher didn’t need these 2 websites, but they did want OTHER websites that I might know would be interested in selling my book.

Once again, I collected these sites over time as I was writing my book.

I included speciality websites with bookstores that sold my other African American children’s books. This list included some small children’s bookstores, book fair sites that sell children’s books at school book fairs, and also a couple of Christian bookstore sites since my books are also often carried there.

If you want to look for sites like these that could be either grassroots sites (really small bookstores) or not as commonly known sites such as school book fairs, just spend some time googling key words such as “online bookstores” or titles of similar books to your book and see which online bookstores pop up.

Publicists and sometimes sales reps like to connect with these stores to get your book in as many relailers’ hands as possible. This helps increase sales!


Responses

  1. http://www.warwicks.com/
    in San Diego is a favorite.

    http://www.childrenshourbookstore.com/
    and http://www.kensandersbooks.com
    in Salt Lake City are my favorites too.

    Good luck!!

    • Wow, thanks for sharing, Annalisa!!!

  2. another fun website for promoting books,authors, illustrators…you might already know about it…

    http://bookpage.com/meet-the-author


Leave a Reply

Categories

