Posted by: nancyisanders | May 9, 2012

Happy Birthday, Book!

I’m excited to share that the first copy of my brand new book, Frederick Douglass for Kids, arrived in the mail. Wahoo!!!!

It’s hard to believe that the birthday for this book has finally arrived. I was just looking at a journal I’ve kept for this book. I first got the idea for it on July 23, 2009.

Now, you know how when some animal babies are born, they are helpless and not quite fully developed? A baby kangaroo is an example. A joey is born and nearly resembles a caterpillar. It crawls into the mama’s pouch and finishes developing there.

But then there are the animals such as the Jack Rabbit. Its babies, and other animals as well, are able to run around within an hour or so after being born.

That’s how it is with a book. When a book is born, it hits the ground running! There are reviews to post, book tours to host, and lots of fun stuff to do! If you just let it “sit” there, it will languish and perhaps even “die” or go out of print. Whether you self-publish your book or get it published by a traditional publisher, there are things to do!

I thought you’d like to come along the journey with me and share in the daily activity that surrounds the happy birthday of a book.

For starters, I already sent my editor an e-mail thanking him for all the hard work he has done to bring this book to life and got a wonderful e-mail back from him thanking me, too!

Now I have more e-mails to send to other people at the publishing house.

Plus, I got right on the phone and ordered 20 books from the publisher (with my 40% off author’s discount, of course!). I’ve got to start sending out copies for potential awards. (I’ll share about that in my upcoming posts.)

And for today? It’s photo day! Time to take lots and lots of photos of my book with various props and of me and my book. It’s good to have a variety on hand for virtual book tours, etc.

Now, even if your book had it’s birthday several months or even a couple of years ago and you never did some of the things I’m going to do that I’ll be sharing on my blog, it’s not too late! Go ahead and celebrate your book’s birthday again and start helping to market your book!!! And if your book isn’t out yet, follow along and get ideas for how you can celebrate the birthday of your book when it happens.


Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS, NANCY!!!!! Woohoo!!!! This is definitely something to celebrate! I’m doin the happydance with you!! I know you definitely were ‘in labor’ with this book. You worked so hard and diligently and attended to all the important details to nurture it to full life. You can just revel in the joy of its’ completion and birthday now, what a blessing! Can I buy a copy from you or ??? Can’t wait to see it! Enjoy this very special day, my friend. You earned it and God blessed it. 🙂

    • Thanks, Val!!!!! How fun to do the dancing together! And I’m thanking God for sure for the wonderful journey it’s been so far…with more adventures along the way.

  2. Nancy, I have also birthed my baby (book). Got it in the mail this week. I’ll be interested in following you and maybe incorportating some of your ideas into marketing my book. Thanks for letting me tag along!

    • Oh happy day, Gloria!!!! Congratulations on your book’s birthday!!! It will be fun to do some celebrating together.

  3. Congratulations! I love your animal births and book birth analogy! I look forward to seeing your photos!

    • Thanks, Tina!!! And glad you like the analogy. :o)

  4. Congratulations! This is so exciting. What a journey you’ve been on. I so appreciate all your sharing.

    • Thanks for joining in the joy, Doraine! (And also for the plug you gave Yes! You Can on the NF listserve!!!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

