Posted by: nancyisanders | June 2, 2012

Book Launch Party: Frederick Douglass for Kids

Welcome back to my book launch party to celebrate the release of my newest book, Frederick Douglass for Kids!

Yesterday while the celebration was going on in cyberspace, I was actually visiting the fourth grade students in my husband, Jeff’s, classroom! His elementary school was celebrating their 40th anniversary, so I joined in the special day to help them celebrate their big event, too!

And when I visit, I always love to share with Jeff’s students about my writing. They LOVE learning about what it’s like to be a writer. So many kids want to grow up to be a writer, too. And I got to show them my brand new book, Frederick Douglass for Kids.

These kids are smart. Many of them already know who Frederick Douglass was: A really important man who helped President Lincoln during the Civil War. It’s my hope that through this book, they’ll learn even more about him and that they’ll be inspired to make a difference in the world, just like he did.

And kids are so cute. At one point during the day, all the kids in the entire school got popsicles to enjoy after a special 1-hour lunch as one of the ways they were celebrating the 40th birthday of the school. One of the boys who wasn’t in my husband’s class saw me standing outside under the trees with some of the students. He asked me, “Are you Mrs. Sanders?”

I smiled and said, “Yes, I am!”

To which he smiled back in awe and asked, “Are you practically an author?”

I grinned even bigger this time and said, “Yes! I’m practically an author.”

Ahhh…kids! Don’t you just love them?

And to prove to you that yes, I’m practically an author, today for the second day of my Book Launch Party, I wanted to share with you an awesome book review that just came in for Frederick Douglass for Kids. It’s the first big review I’ve seen! I posted it on the official site for my book so you can click here and read it, too!

PRIZES
In case you’re joining in today for the first time, the first prize I’m offering during the celebration is this: A free critique and evaluation of a 1-page query or cover letter for your book.

Just e-mail one or more friends today (the more the merrier) and let them know about my book, Frederick Douglass for Kids, then e-mail me at jeffandnancys@gmail.com to let me know!

I’ll put everyone’s name in a hat who e-mails me today to say you e-mailed your friends to let them know about this important new book for kids.

In my next post, you’ll get another chance to win this prize, too. And on Wednesday, June 6, I’ll announce the name of the winner here on my blog.


Responses

  1. Nice review! Congrats.

  2. I loved your blog today. Kids ARE so cute indeed. 🙂
    Margaret

    • Yes, don’t you just love kids?! It was fun to spend the day with them yesterday and watch them perform a song they’ve been practicing, enjoy a special assembly, slurp down popsicles, and learn how to square dance, too! We all had a great time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

