Posted by: nancyisanders | June 9, 2012

Book Launch Party: Frederick Douglass for Kids

Welcome back to my book launch party to celebrate the release of my newest book, Frederick Douglass for Kids!

LET’S PARTY!
Today’s stop on my virtual Book Launch Party is taking place at the site Just Kidding: On Writing for Children and Other Life Stuff by children’s author Jody Shaffer. Hop on over there to say hi and learn more about Frederick Douglass and about how to take photographs for using in articles and books like I did for my new book Frederick Douglass for Kids.

PRIZES
The prize that you can enter today for a chance to win is a set of autographed full-color bookmarks for my new book, Frederick Douglass and Kids! Just e-mail me at jeffandnancys@gmail.com and tell me you’re following this celebration, or post a comment here today to answer the question below and I’ll put your name in the hat today for a chance to win the prize. (A winner will be announced on Monday, June 11 here on my blog.)

Question:
Many people, such as his future wife Anna, helped Frederick Douglass escape on his journey to freedom. Has there been someone in your own life who has helped you along your own personal life’s journey?

About Frederick Douglass
Here on my blog during the book launch party, I’m sharing photographs I took with my husband Jeff and our son Ben as we traveled through the eastern states where Frederick Douglass once lived.

In Baltimore, MD we visited the Frederick Douglass – Isaac Myers Maritime Park Museum where we learned more about the life and times of Frederick Douglass. There were beautiful murals inside the museum. This one shows a picture of Frederick Douglass and Anna Murray. They met in Baltimore and fell in love. Anna, who was free, helped Frederick escape from slavery.

Frederick disguised himself as a sailor and escaped traveling by train and boat north to the free state of Pennsylvania. He wore a tarpaulin, a type of sailor’s hat, as part of his disguise. In my new book, there’s an activity where kids learn how to make a tarpaulin. Here’s a picture of when I was making the tarpaulin as an example for in my book.

This is a picture of the completed tarpaulin. You can make this hat, plus engage in all 21 historical activities with your children or students when you purchase Frederick Douglass for Kids. A great resource for families, homeschoolers, and educators!

Frederick Douglass reached Philadelphia and for the first time in his life stepped onto free soil. My family and I visited the African American Museum in Philadelphia where we learned all about this great history and the African American leaders who lived here in Philadephia since before the American Revolution.

One of the greatest leaders in Philadelphia was Richard Allen. He was the Martin Luther King Jr. of the years when our nation was founded. You can learn more about him and other famous founders in my book America’s Black Founders.

This is a photo of the church in Philadelphia that Richard Allen founded, Mother Bethel A.M.E. Church. It was such a blessing to visit it on Sunday morning when we were in Philadelphia on this trip and attend church services that morning.

This is a photograph of one of the beautiful stained glass windows in the sanctuary of Mother Bethel.

Little did Frederick Douglass know as he hurried secretly through the streets of Philadelphia, fearful that he would be caught by slave catchers, that one day he would return to Mother Bethel as a famous orator to speak to a large audience eager to hear his every word. This sign is in the must-see museum in the basement of Mother Bethel.

Frederick Douglass hurried from the docks to the Willow Street train depot that once stood on this very site here in Philadelphia.

As I took this photograph of the street sign, I realized that I could see Independence Hall in the background. How poignant this was to know that Frederick Douglass stood on this very spot and saw Independence Hall, too, as he bought a ticket for New York City where he planned to reunite with Anna on his dangerous escape to freedom.


Responses

  1. I love reading and learning about history. Your book is excellent.

    • Nancy, I thank you for that comment, especially coming from someone who loves reading books about history!

  2. My cousin Elaine is someone who has helped me on my life’s journey. She has been with me through thick and thin. Another person who has helped me is you Nancy!!! You have helped me so much with my writing career! Thank you, Thank you!!! 🙂
    Margaret

    • Dear Margaret, you’re such an inspiration to me, too! And I’m so glad we’re “writing buddies,” too. My life is much richer because of you! Plus, I know how close you are to your precious cousin Elaine.

  3. Hi, Nancy,

    It’s always fun to get an insider’s look at what it takes to write a wonderful book like Frederick Douglass for Kids. You always seem to have such fun writing your books and you go that “extra mile” to make sure they’re really great resources for your readers.

    I just got a copy of Frederick Douglass for Kids and it’s so interesting! Adults as well as kids will love this book! Congratulations!

  4. Good morning Nancy,
    I’m in the process of reading Yes! You Can! and loving it. Thank you for all the inspiration you have provided to keep on writing. Blessings on you and your new book!

    • Oh, I’m so glad you’re being blessed by my book Yes! You Can! And thanks for your kudos on my newest book, too!

  5. Thanks, Suzanne! And I’m so glad you got a copy, too!!!

  6. Nancy, I’m so glad you wrote about Frederick Douglass. He’s such an important part of our history and very few know his real story or his Christian influence. Best of luck to you with its success!

  7. Nancy, you are awesome to share the craft of writing non-fiction with your writer pals. Thanks to you, I now have a couple of published articles under my belt and continue to recommend your books and blog to my writer friends!

  8. Amazing.

  9. Awesome

  10. Love seeing all the photos. It helps make the stories you’re sharing about Douglass come alive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

